Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email | FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results | HoseheadsClassifieds.com

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login


Forum: Northern California Sprint Car (go)
Moderators: StuDeedooo

Records per page
Topic: 52ND JOHNNY KEY CLASSIC THIS SATURDAY AT OCEAN SPEEDWAY Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
Page 1 of 1   of  6 replies
August 22, 2012 at 04:13:29 PM
Joined: 12/10/2004
Posts: 460


WATSONVILLE, CALIFORNIA (August 22, 2012) - Saturday night one driver will leave Ocean Speedway with $10,000 as the winner of the 52nd Johnny Key Classic presented by Digital Delivery Networks.A record winner's share has drawn an all-star cast of drivers expected to the Watsonville quarter-mile on Saturday night.

The Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo points race will include points leader Shane Golobic of Fremont and second in points Brad Furr of Stockton who are locked into the race based on their points performances so far.They are joined by 2009 Johnny Key winner Tommy Tarlton, San Jose's Nick Green, Auburn's Andy Forsberg, and Fresno rookie Dominic Scelzi as the drivers locked into the feature.

Tarlton won the first three consecutive Key qualifying races while Green and Forsberg used runner-up finishes behind Tarlton to lock themselves in.Scelzi took home his first career Sprint Car win dramatic fashion last Friday night with a last-lap pass to defeat Furr and take his place in the Key.

All told, Tarlton has won five Ocean Sprints features despite missing several events due to family commitments.The 2010 Ocean Sprints champion is chasing down Brent Kaeding's all-time win mark of seven wins in a single season.

In fact all four drivers who qualified into the Key through the qualifying races are running part-time efforts.Scelzi, son of NHRA legend Gary Scelzi, suffered a concussion in a wild flip on June 1st but came back to win on August 18.Green, son of legendary Knoxville Sprint Car champion Tim Green, flipped in a USAC/CRA event at Ocean in June but came back with a new ART chassis to finish second on July 20.

Driving Steve Osborne's #9j, Golobic has been a model of consistency in 2012 but has yet to visit victory lane.He holds down a 19 point lead of Furr in the Price Rite Restaurant Equipment #2 who has also had a very consistent season despite a goose-egg in the wins column.

Among the bigger surprises of the 2012 campaign is that all three Kaedings, Brent and his sons Tim and Bud, will have to race their way into the Key in one of the 20 lap qualifying races.All three have enjoyed great success this season with Bud winning the season-opener and Brent winning round two.

Other high profile drivers expected to try to race in include St. Helena's Rico Abreu, GrassValley's Jason Statler, and ScottsValley's Evan Suggs.Chico's Mason Moore and Peter Murphy were also likely to race as of press time.Ocean Sprints regulars Gilroy's Kurt Nelson, San Martin's "Cowboy" Craig Smith, Corralitos' Jerry Bonemma, Salinas' Carter Train, San Jose's Ryan Rusconi, San Jose's Wayne Katen, Lemoore's Carson Macedo, and Watsonville's Justin Sanders are expected.

Also expected to appear are Auburn's Cole Wood, Fresno's Koen Shaw, Salinas' Jeremy and Jason Chisum, Morgan Hill's Nick Ringo, Jr. and Nicholas Ringo, San Jose's Michael Twitchell, Petaluma's Jason Toft, and Fremont's Anthony Espinoza.

Each b-main event will invert the top-four as usual for Ocean Sprints heat races and the b-mains will be 20 laps.Drivers who make the Key through their b-main will get their qualifying times back and start behind the qualified six.

The six qualified cars will hot lap then pill draw for positions in a six lap dash.The finishing order of the dash for cash will make up the starting line-up for the feature.

Purse for the Johnny Key Classic A-main will be $10,000 to win and $300 to start.There will also be lap money awarded $25 going to first, $15 to second and $10 to third during the sponsored laps.

The Johnny Key Classic will be a 50 lap feature in two 25 lap segments.During the break, teams will be allowed to refuel, change tires, and make adjustments before the race resumes.

Laps are still for sale for the Johnny Key Classic with interested parties urged to contact [email protected]Laps are $50 each to be paid out to the top-three cars each lap.

Friday's races for the Ocean Sprints will also include racing for the Micro 600s, IMCA Modifieds, and Wingless Sprints.Adult tickets are just $17 with seniors 65+ $15 and kids ages 6-12 are $13.The family pass for two adults and two children is value priced at just $55.Qualifying will get underway at 5 p.m. with fan gates opening at 3:30 p.m.The Goularte Brothers Racing Reunion will take place from 11 a.m. - 3 p.m. in the grassy area behind turn four with classic racing cars and the snack bar will be open for lunch.

For more information on the Ocean Sprint Cars presented by Taco Bravo log onto http://www.oceansprints.com and for more on the Ocean Speedway visit http://www.oceanspeedway.com

Ocean Speedway would like to thank Taco Bravo, Digital Delivery Networks, Get Som Sports, Ray Scheidt's Electric, Hoosier Tires West, and Kaeding Performance for their support of the 2012 Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo.

Johnny Key Classic winners

1954 Danny Graves
1955 Al Pombo
1956 Clyde Palmer
1957 Ray Raineri
1958 Rick Henderson
1959 George Benson
1960 Marshall Sargent
1961 Clyde Palmer(2)
1962 Clyde Palmer(3)
1963 Marshall Sargent
1964 George Snider
1965 Burt Foland
1966 Burt Foland(2)
1967 Bill Scott
1968 Howard Kaeding
1969 Bill Scott(2)
1970 Don Epperson
1971 Everett Edlund
1972 Nick Rescino
1973 Howard Kaeding(2)
1974 Nick Rescino(2)
1975 Nick Rescino(3)
1976 Tony Ringo
1977 Danny O'Neill
1978 Johnny Brazil
1979 Howard Kaeding(3)
1980 Brent Kaeding
1981 Mike Sargent
1982 Nick Rescino(4)
1983 John Viel
1984 Nick Rescino(5)
1985 Rich Voss
1986 Nick Rescino(6)
1987 Howard Kaeding(4)
1988 Rod Spencer
1989 Scott Luhdorff
1990 Danny Olmstead
1991 Terry McCarl
1992 Scott Luhdorff(2)
1993 Chuck Miller
1994 Chuck Miller(2)
1995 Rick Martin
1996 Bud Kaeding
1997 Craig Smith
1998 Ronnie Day
1999 Eric Rossi
2007 Jason Statler*
2008 Brent Kaeding (2)*
2009 Tommy Tarlton*
2010 Tim Kaeding*
2011 Ronnie Day*

* = Held at Ocean Speedway


August 22, 2012 at 04:16:25 PM
Joined: 12/10/2004
Posts: 460

Dominic Scelzi is the most recent winner in Ocean Sprints competition to carry momentum into the Johnny Key Classic (Amanda Jones photo)


Ca Sprintcar fan
August 25, 2012 at 01:49:23 PM
Joined: 01/29/2012
Posts: 905

Watsonville is the place to be tonight. I got to get one of those Ronnie Day/JohnnyKey shirts. See you guys there.

Northern California Sprintcars

August 26, 2012 at 10:35:17 AM
Joined: 08/19/2005
Posts: 58

Anyone have the results from the Key race last night? Good race?


Throttle Down!

August 26, 2012 at 11:55:19 AM
Joined: 12/10/2004
Posts: 460

Tommy Tarlton won the $10,000 to win DDNI Johnny Key Classic on Saturday night at Ocean Speedway Watsonville leading all 50 laps. 36 360s were on hand in front of a near sell-out crowd.

Full recap coming later today....


August 26, 2012 at 12:40:19 PM
Joined: 03/22/2008
Posts: 101

Rico Abreu Second

August 26, 2012 at 12:49:39 PM
Joined: 08/19/2005
Posts: 58



Throttle Down!

Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login

If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at HoseHeadForums.com
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2021 HoseHeadForums.com Privacy Policy