Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results | RacersAuction.com | HoseheadsClassifieds.com
Hoosier Tire Great Plains | Hoosier Mid Atlantic | Racing Warehouse | Performance Race Parts | Xtreme Race Parts

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login


Forum: Racing From The Past (go)
Moderators: Racing From The Past

Topic: BCRA & HOF Induction
Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
First | Previous | Next | Last Reply 1 to 1 of 1
Racing From The Past
April 20, 2007 at 09:40:12 AM
Joined: 12/04/2004
Posts: 2298
This message was edited on April 20, 2007 at 09:41:55 AM by Racing From The Past

Press release 04-18-2007

On April 13th the Hall of Fame selectors of the Big Car Racing Association voted in 11 new members.Among the group are five drivers, four car owners, and Two members of the media.

At the head of the class for 2007 is Lonnie Morosic. Morosic a car owner and master innovator, set the bar for creative ideas in sprint car racing during the BCRA era. The engineering marvels Lonnie created included, a propane powered sprinter, and two rear engine sprinters. The rear engine cars raced primarily on dirt tracks, and ran especially well on dry slick surfaces. Morosic was also one of the first to use a enclosed trailer for transporting his race cars and His supplies.

Bill Smith also a native of the Cornhusker state played a primary role in the advancement of sprint car racing during this time. Known for his business genius with Speedway Motors, Smith also won two car owner championships with BCRA and driver Jan Opperman. Smith teamed with Opperman to win the biggest race of his Career as an owner in 1976. The duo beat the USAC boys at Terre Haute, winning the prestigious Tony Hulman Classic on national TV.

Leroy Byers of Colorado was the primary photographer for BCRA racing; his photography has graced almost every top racing publication in America at sometime or another. Leroy has several thousand negatives in his collection, Tom Davey (another great racing photographer), calls him the "Ansell Adams" of open wheel photography.

Author, columnist, public relations expert, were among many of the hats Bill Hill has worn during his years involved in racing. During the BCRA era he was also a top announcer for the club at many venues.

Grady Wade, Dale Reed, and Jay Woodside of Wichita, Kansas were three of the best dirt sprint car drivers of the 1960's, all won on the BCRA and IMCA circuits. Wade won the BCRA title in 1965 and was the IMCA "Rookie of the year" in 1966; Woodside won the BCRA title in 1966, along with the Knoxville Nationals. Reed tied for the most BCRA victories in history with 6, and was also ninth in career lifetime points when he left the IMCA ranks. All three drivers were also

Standout super modified drivers as well on the NCRA circuit.

Otis "Ody" Fellows from Colorado, was a versatile driver who raced in midgets, sprint cars, sports cars, and stock cars. Fellows raced several seasons in BCRA, finishing 6Th in 1961. Fellows are best known for being a master craftsman, working on several race cars and vintage cars over the years.

Ernest "Red" Foreshee was one of the top owners in the history of the BCRA. The Wichita plumber won two car owner championships and 8 features with his number#84 sprinters.

The "Belle of Belleville", one of the all-time great sprint cars was owned and operated by the Goodrich family of Belleville, Kansas. Father Fred "Pop" and

Sons Charles "Buss", Bob, and Ray raced versions of this car for many years. In 1966 the Goodrich's won the car owner championship for BCRA. Buss also raced

His own car #6 "Clara's Car" in BCRA competition.

Gordon Woolley, of Waco Texas raced anywhere, anytime. During the 1960's Woolley raced with several groups including BCRA, IMCA, and CRA. The Texas lead Foot won races in all of those organizations, and took the IMCA title in 1963, from 1960-1968 Woolly won 20 races in IMCA.

The Induction ceremony will be held at the 'Museum of American Speed', Located at Speedway Motors in Lincoln Nebraska on June 8th at 6 PM. Contact number is 308-472-5131 or 308-325-5455.

Ray Cunningham

Warren Vincent
Cans 4 Kansas Honor Flights

First | Previous | Next | Last Reply 1 to 1 of 1

Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login


If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at HoseHeadForums.com
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2019 HoseHeadForums.com Privacy Policy