Main site | Classifieds
Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results | |
Hoosier Tire Great Plains | Hoosier Mid Atlantic | Racing Warehouse | Performance Race Parts | Xtreme Race Parts

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login


Forum: General Forum (go)
Moderators:  /  David Smith Jr

Topic: An Advanced Look at Sprint Series of Oklahoma Season Opener!
Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
First | Previous | Next | Last Reply 1 to 1 of 1
David Smith Jr
February 18, 2018 at 11:50:27 AM
Joined: 11/20/2004
Posts: 8927

David Smith, Jr.
(405) 740-4769
An Advanced Look at Sprint Series of Oklahoma Season Opener!
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma – February 18, 2018 - Less than two weeks remain until the 2018 season opener as the Sprint Series of Oklahoma IMCA RaceSaver Sprint Car Series presented by Smiley’s Racing Products/Hoosier Tires Southwest kicks off their third season at Red Dirt Raceway in Meeker, Oklahoma on Saturday evening, March 3, 2018 and the running of the “Pole Position Spring Nationals.”
The cast of regulars virtually remain the same while new drivers make their inaugural full-time appearance utilizing a a 305-ci motor.
Two-time and defending tour champion Andy Shouse of Oklahoma City will be looking for three championships in a row. The 2016 IMCA Sprint Car National champion leads the tour in career victories with seven and has two at the track formally known as Brill Motor Speedway.
Joe Wood, Jr. of Oklahoma will also return to the series and is tied for third in career series victories with three, one of which also came at Red Dirt Raceway.
Loyd Clevenger of Newalla returns to the quarter-mile clay oval in hopes of finally reaching victory lane after coming just five laps sort in his quest of the checkered flag last September as he led twenty-five laps before encounters with a lapped car.
Chris Kelly of Moore has one career series victory and will once again compete full-time with the series as well as Mike Scott (Midwest City), Cody Whitworth (Tuttle), Eric Matthews (Conway Springs, Kansas), Chad Koch (Wichita Falls, Texas), defending series rookie of the year Tristian Oakes (Sand Springs, OK), Jerry Jumper (Moore), Dillon Laden (Yukon), Josh Toho (Hinton), Blake Scott (Elmore City), Tanner Conn (OKC) and Justin Mowery (Mustang) are all expected to compete in most, if not all, the races in 2018.
Shane Sellers of Mustang will compete full-time with the series this year, taking over the reigns of the Pete Haskins owned #16s, last year driven by Steven Shebester (Mustang). Shebester has taking over the driving duties of the Lubbock Wrecker #11x for this season.
Shayla Waddell, a part-time series competitor the series first two years, will be on board full-time in 2018 as Brandon Jennings of Norman will also focus solely on 305-ci competition.  
Veteran chassis repair man Duane Baker of Chickasha and Brian Harvey of Moore have purchased the 305-ci RaceSaver engines and will be in competition in 2018 while Cody Jarvis (Mustang) will be competing full-time and for rookie of the year honors after attending a select amount of shows last year.
After taking a year off to return to the micro ranks, young Alison Slaton will be back with SSO as well in 2018.
Other Texas-state drivers expected to make the trek north into the “Sooner State” include Wolf City driver Robert Vetter, Wichita Falls driver Sterling Hoff and the brother-sister duo of Michelle and Justin Melton of Flower Mound, Texas.
Gates will open at noon on Saturday, March 3rd, with a special start time set for 4:00 PM. Grandstand general admission is $15 for adults; people 5’4” and lower admitted into the grandstands for free.
Pit gates open at 5:00 PM with racing slated for a 7:30 PM start time. Grandstand admission is $15 for adults ages 16 and up; $13 for ages 12-15 and all seniors while all pit passes are $30.
Red Dirt Raceway is located off I-40 to exit 186 then sixteen miles north on State Hwy 18.
If coming from the Tulsa area take the Turner Turnpike (I-44) to the Chandler exit, then ten miles south of Hwy 66 on State Hwy 18. More information on Brill Motor Speedway can be found on the tracks official website or call (405) 318-0198.
As mentioned, this will be the third season for the Sprint Series of Oklahoma IMCA Racesaver Sprint Series presented by Smiley’s Racing Products/Hoosier Tires Southwest and currently has an eighteen-race schedule. For more information on the SSO check out their official facebook page: Sprint Series of Oklahoma or call competition director Jim Messmer (405) 417-2202.
Officials with the SSO would like to thank Smiley’s Racing Products for once again becoming series presenting partner and will again award the 2018 series point champion $1000 cash. Also, would like to welcome Hoosier Racing Tires Southwest as a series presenting partner as they will award a set of Hoosier Racing tires to one lucky driver at the year-end points banquet in a random draw. Drivers must finish in positions second through tenth in the final point standings to be eligible.
Contingency partners for 2018 include Rod End Supply; Saldana Racing Products; Pyrotech Fuel Cells, Keizer Wheels and Super Shox.
Career SSO victories: Shouse (7); Wood, Jr. and John Carney II (3); Chad Wilson (2); Brandon Long, Jake Martens, Chad Wilson, Luke Cranston, Marcus Thomas, Austin Mundie, Chad Koch, Chris Kelly, Michael Day, Steven Shebester, Michelle Melton, Robert Sellers and Kevin Ramey (1).
Brill Motor Speedway/Red Dirt Raceway SSO feature winners: Shouse (2), Martens, Wood and Robert Sellers (1)  

David Smith Jr.

First | Previous | Next | Last Reply 1 to 1 of 1

Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login


If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2018 Privacy Policy