Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results | RacersAuction.com | HoseheadsClassifieds.com
Hoosier Tire Great Plains | Hoosier Mid Atlantic | Racing Warehouse | Performance Race Parts | Xtreme Race Parts

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login


Forum: SCOA (go)

Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
First | Previous | Next | Last Reply 1 to 1 of 1
April 18, 2017 at 12:58:31 AM
Joined: 09/16/2011
Posts: 1059




Sewell comes out on top in Ameri-Flex / OCRS season opener at Lawton

By John Rittenoure
OCRS Staff

LAWTON, Okla. (April 15, 2017) - Alex Sewell took advantage of an opportunity and turned it into a victory on Saturday in the Ameri-Flex Hose and Accessories / Oil Capital Racing Series season opener at Lawton Speedway.

It was the third OCRS career victory for Sewell and he celebrated enthusiastically by climbing onto his sprinter in victory lane where he cheered and waved to the crowd.

Sewell started outside second row in the 30-lap main event, but quickly found himself with the lead after a lap one restart.

Pole sitter T.J. Honkomp and outside front row starter Casey Wills raced into turn one on the start and made contact. Wills came to a stop in turn two forcing an immediate yellow flag while Honkomp limped back to the pit area. Neither could restart.

“I don’t know exactly what happened as I was turned down the racetrack," explained Sewell. "At that moment I thought, it is me and (Shane) Sellers now.”

On the restart Sewell jumped out with the lead followed by Shane Sellers. Sewell knew he could not make any mistakes.

“Anytime you are racing a Sellers and they are behind you, you race 100 percent no matter what,” he said. “I went as hard as I could the whole time.”

The result was nearly a straightaway lead over Sellers as the race wore on. But a late race caution gave Sewell cause for concern.

“After that late race caution I knew my tire was going down and it (the car) got tighter and tighter,” Sewell said of his Sewell Mechanical, SDH Manufacturing sponsored sprinter. “But we adapted and came out on top.

Sewell never had any doubt his sprinter could go the distance.

“My cars are always steady,” Sewell said. “My dad (Andy Sewell) and Rob (Forehand) do an awesome job in the shop preparing me one of the best race cars out here.”

At the finish Sellers finished second after chasing Sewell the entire 30 laps. Zach Chappell followed in third followed by Sheldon Barksdale and Gary Owens.

WESMAR B features were won by defending Ameri-Flex / OCRS champion Robert Sellers and Lawton competitor Kyle Ezell.


                    Alex Sewell Took Checkers In The 2017 Ameri-Flex / OCRS Season Opener @ Lawton Speedway Saturday night.


Ameri-Flex / OCRS Results
Lawton Speedway
April 15, 2017
Car Count: 28


Drive Shafts, Inc. Heat (8 laps)
1, 4-Shane Sellers[1]. 2, 8-Alex Sewell[6]. 3, 20S-Sheldon Barksdale[5]. 4, 55- Johnny Kent[7]. 5, 5-Cameron Hagin[3].
6, 94F-Morgan Fletcher[4]. 7, 11-Nick Bates[2].

A1 Machine Shop Heat (8 laps)
1, 31-Casey Wills[2]. 2, 50Z-Zach Chappell[1]. 3, 4X-Robert Sellers[3]. 4, 10K-Kyle Ezell[5]. 5, 33-Gary Owens[7].
6, 22C-Cody Cothran[4]. 7, 76S-Shayla Waddell[6].

Car and Fleet Parts Heat (8 laps)
1, 2W-Whit Gastineau[2]. 2, 2-Mickey Walker[1]. 3, 18J-Brandon Jennings[6]. 4, 24-T.J. Herrell[7]. 5, 30-Joseph Miller[4]. 6, P78-Perry Pickard[3]. 7, 911-Mike Baker[5].

Car and Fleet Parts Heat (8 laps)
1, 28-Joe Wood Jr.[2]. 2, 76H-TJ Honkomp[3]. 3, 5L-Joe Bob Lee[4]. 4, 1x- Denny Cothran[5]. 5, B52-Brandon Long[7].
6, 14-Shawn Bloomquist[6]. 7, 88-Chris Jensen[1].

Wesmar Racing Engines B Feature #1 (12 laps, top 4 transfer)
1, 4X-Robert Sellers[2]. 2, 33-Gary Owens[3]. 3, 1x-Denny Cothran[0]. 4, 94F-Morgan Fletcher[5]. 5, 5-Cameron Hagin[4]. 6, 911-Mike Baker[8]. 7, 11-Nick Bates[7]. 8, P78-Perry Pickard[6].

Wesmar Racing Engines B Feature #2 (12 laps, top 4 transfer)
1, 10K-Kyle Ezell[2]. 2, 5L-Joe Bob Lee[1]. 3, B52-Brandon Long[3]. 4, 30-Joseph Miller[4]. 5, 22C-Cody Cothran[5].
6, 76S-Shayla Waddell[7]. 7, 88-Chris Jensen[8]. 8, 14-Shawn Bloomquist[6].

AmeriFlex Hose & Accessories A Feature (30 laps)
1, 8-Alex Sewell[4]. 2, 4-Shane Sellers[3]. 3, 50Z-Zach Chappell[5]. 4, 20S-Sheldon Barksdale[10]. 5, 33-Gary Owens[13]. 6, 2W-Whit Gastineau[6]. 7,B52-Brandon Long[18]. 8, 2-Mickey Walker[8]. 9, 10K-Kyle Ezell[14]. 10, 5L-Joe Bob Lee[16]. 11, 1x-Denny Cothran[15]. 12, 5-Cameron Hagin[20]. 13, 94F-Morgan Fletcher[17]. 14, 24-T.J. Herrell[9]. 15, 55-Johnny Kent[10]. 16, 30-Joseph Miller[19]. 17, 18J-Brandon Jennings[7]. 18, 4X-Robert Sellers[11]. 19,76H-TJ Honkomp[1]. 20, 31-Casey Wills[2].

Lap Leaders: Alex Sewell: 1-30

NOTE: Cameron Hagin added as an alternate for the A Feature after Joe Wood Jr. Scratched from the event with mechanical issues.


Contingency Awards:
Drive Shafts Inc. Heat Race: Shane Sellers
A-1 Machine Shop Heat Race: Casey Wills
Car & Fleet Heat Race: Whit Gastineau
Car & Fleet Heat Race: Joe Wood Jr.
Wesmar B-Feature #1: Robert Sellers
Wesmar B-Feature #2: Kyle Ezell
Amsoil Hard Charger Award: Brandon Long +11
M&W Aluminum Products: Hard Luck Recipient: T.J. Honkomp
Rod End Supply Recipients: Denny Cothran, Cameron Hagin, Morgan Fletcher

Next Event: April 29th: Caney Valley Speedway / Caney Kansas



First | Previous | Next | Last Reply 1 to 1 of 1

Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login


If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at HoseHeadForums.com
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2021 HoseHeadForums.com Privacy Policy