California Lightning Sprints
Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email | FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results |

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login


Forum: California Lightning Sprints (go)
Moderators: CLS Dan  /  ljennings  /  smokinokie

Records per page
Topic: KRAMER CLOSES LIGHTNING SPRINT CAR SEASON WITH EL CENTRO WIN! Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
Page 1 of 1   of  0 replies
November 27, 2015 at 06:09:22 PM
Joined: 11/14/2006
Posts: 2930


22126 South Vermont, Unit A

Torrance, CA 90502

(310) 320-5569

FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT: Bobby Michnowicz (310) 320-5569

For Immediate Release 


(Torrance, CA, November 27, 2015)   2010 California Lightning Sprint Car Series champion Jarrett Kramer closed the CLS season with a win at the Imperial Valley Raceway on the fairgrounds in El Centro last Saturday night.  For Kramer, who was not a regular during 2015, it was his second win of the year.  

It was an emotional night at the Imperial County ¼ mile clay oval as it was the first time the CLS drivers could pay tribute to fellow driver Damon Arnett who suffered fatal injuries in an accident while working on one his trucks.  Upland’s Alex Grigoreas, who came into the night second in the championship standings, started things off right when he won a trophy dash dedicated to Arnett.  Grigoreas’ former teammate Jeff Dyer of Fort Irwin, who found out a couple days after the race that he had been accepted into the CHP academy, sped to second in the dash, with “Rockstar” Jon Robertson of Torrance third and Spring Valley’s Kramer fourth. 

Kramer and Dyer won the two heat races on the night and then it was on to the 20-lap main event at the long standing racing grounds. 

For the main, Kramer, in his bright orange Layton Kramer tuned Black Rhino/BK Wings/Showtime Motorsports/Christian Stover Foundation/T-Shirts by Timeless/Phillips Pool Supply/Circle Track Performance/Don Guhl Engines/Rob & Natasha Briley #14, started on the outside of the front row.  Even though he tipped over earlier in the night and some quick repairs had to be made, anyone who is familiar to CLS racing knew that it would be wise to not bet against the 33-year-old racing father with a front row starting spot.  However, he got off to a shaky start when San Bernardino’s James Heling beat him to the green flag.  Then much to the surprise of most veteran watcher’s, Kramer parked it near the end of the first circuit allowing Dyer to take over second.  

Things really heated up on the fourth lap when Dyer took the lead from Heling and Grigoreas snuck past Kramer for third.  Grigoreas and Kramer then both got past Heling for the second and third spots respectively, but they had some distance to make up to catch leader Dyer.  

Grigoreas came off turn four wide on the fifth lap and Kramer immediately pounced on the opportunity and got back to second.  That happened just a few moments before leader Dyer caught up to the lapped traffic.  When Dyer took the high line a lap later to get past a lapped car coming off of turn four, Kramer deftly went to the inside and not only passed the lapped car, but he took Dyer for the lead at the same time. 

Grigoreas got by Dyer as well and he did not give Kramer a huge amount of breathing room.  If he maintained that second place spot, Grigoreas would finish second in the championship standings.  However, on the last lap of the season, Grigoreas car slowed dramatically in turn two.  It had broken a gear and by the time he slammed it back into first and red-lined the engine across the line in seventh, he had given up second not only in the race, but in the 2015 standings as well. 

Chasing Kramer across the line in spots two through five at the finish was Dyer, fast qualifier for the night and now three-time CLS champion Bobby Michnowicz of Lomita, Heling and Anaheim veteran Dale Gamer.  Michnowicz was the race “Hard Charger” moving from his eighth place starting spot to finish third. 

Michnowicz won his third CLS title overall and second in a row with Dyer, Grigoreas, Placentia’s Dan Hillberg and Gamer rounding out the top five spots.  Chino’s Pat Kelley won the tight “Rookie of the Year” honors battle over Robertson.  

Please keep your eye on the CLS website and Facebook page for exciting information on the 2016 schedule. 

El Centro Main Event Finish (with starting positions)

1. Jarrett Kramer (2nd), 2. Jeff Dyer (3rd), 3. Bobby Michnowicz (8th), 4. James Heling (1st), 5. Dale Gamer (10th), 6. Karl Von Yokes (4th), 7. Alex Grigoreas (7th), 8. James Squire (12th), 9. Aiden Lange (13th), 10. Jon Robertson (5th), 11. Pat Kelley (9th), 12. Dan Hillberg (11th), 13, Cody Nigh (14th), 14. Jon Squire (6th)


2015 CLS Pont Standings

1. Bobby Michnowicz - Lomita - 2927

2. Jeff Dyer - Upland - 2681

3. Alex Grigoreas - Upland - 2667

4. Dan Hillberg - Placentia - 2451

5. Dale Gamer - Anaheim - 2364

6. James Heling - San Bernardino - 2315

7. Pat Kelley – Chino - 2212

8. Jon Robertson - Torrance - 2186

9. Don Kuener - Perris - 1638

10. Jarrett Kramer - Spring Valley - 1444 

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for the 2015 season, please call Bobby Michnowicz at: (310) 320-5569. 

To keep up with the CLS on line, please visit the web site at: 

2015 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule

March 7: Imperial Valley Raceway (El Centro) 1/4 Mile - Bobby Michnowicz
March 21: Bakersfield Speedway 1/3 Mile - Bobby Michnowicz (Civil War CLS vs BCRA)
April 11: Ventura Raceway 1/5 Mile - Doug Nunes
April 25: Bakersfield Speedway 1/3 Mile - Doug Nunes
May 9: Santa Maria Raceway 1/4 Mile - Alex Grigoreas
May 23: Perris Auto Speedway 1/2 Mile (Salute To Indy) - Bobby Michnowicz
June 6: Ventura Raceway 1/5 Mile - Bobby Michnowicz
June 20: Bakersfield Speedway 1/3 Mile - Bobby Michnowicz
July 4: Perris Auto Speedway 1/2 Mile (Firecracker) - Jarrett Kramer
July 18: Ventura Raceway 1/5 Mile - Rained Out

August 1: Merced (Civil War CLS vs BCRA) - Canceled
August 15: Perris Auto Speedway 1/2 Mile - Bobby Michnowicz
August 29: Santa Maria Raceway 1/4 Mile - Bobby Michnowicz
September 19: Perris Auto Speedway 1/2 Mile - Dan Hillberg
September 26: Bakersfield Speedway 1/3 Mile (Civil War CLS vs BCRA) - Bobby Michnowicz
October 17: Ventura Raceway 1/5 Mile - Bobby Michnowicz
November 21: Imperial Valley Raceway (El Centro) 1/4 Mile - Jarrett Kramer


1994 Tony Everhart

1995 Gary Sexton

1996 Rob Sczymczak

1997 Jon Rahe

1998 Chris Rahe

1999 Brent Sexton

2000 Greg Bragg

2001 Greg Bragg

2002 Greg Bragg

2003 David Cardey

2004 Keith Janca

2005 Johnny Bates

2006 Donny Gansen

2007 Shane Rossen

2008 Brent Sexton

2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr.

2010 Jarrett Kramer

2011 Tim Brown

2012 Bobby Michnowicz

2013 Stephen Limon

2014 Bobby Michnowicz

2015 Bobby Michnowicz

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768

Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login

If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2019 Privacy Policy