California Lightning Sprints
Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email | FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results |

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login


Forum: California Lightning Sprints (go)
Moderators: CLS Dan  /  ljennings  /  smokinokie

Records per page
Topic: LIGHTNING SPRINTS CLOSE 22ND SEASON SATURDAY AT EL CENTRO Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
Page 1 of 1   of  0 replies
November 17, 2015 at 04:59:36 PM
Joined: 11/14/2006
Posts: 2822


22126 South Vermont, Unit A

Torrance, CA 90502

(310) 320-5569

FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT: Bobby Michnowicz (310) 320-5569

For Immediate Release 


(Torrance, CA, November 17, 2015)   After a month off, the California Lightning Sprint Car Series will conclude its 22nd season this Saturday night, November 21st, at the same place it started the season back in March, the Imperial Valley Raceway on the fairgrounds in El Centro. 

In addition to the racing, the CLS drivers will be paying homage to fallen fellow driver Damon Arnett on Saturday.  The San Diego based racer, who finished second to Bobby Michnowicz in the 2014 CLS championship standings, passed away on November 10th after being injured several weeks earlier working on one of his trucks. 

Heading into Saturday’s race, Michnowicz, who just turned 52, has nine wins this year, including the March race at El Centro.  In addition, he has already sewed up his third CLS championship.  However, there are still a couple of other tight battles in the top ten and the fight for “Rookie of the Year” honor is still up for grabs.  

The first fight in the standings comes for second place where a pair of former teammates will slug it out for the spot on Saturday.  Upland’s Alex Grigoreas, who won a main at the Santa Maria Raceway earlier this year, is only 12-points ahead of Fort Irwin’s Jeff Dyer in the battle for second.  Dyer is still seeking his first 2015 victory.  

In the war for fifth overall, veteran Dale Gamer of Anaheim, sits 55-points in front of San Bernardino’s James Heling.  Chino’s Pat Kelley and “Rockstar” John Robertson of Torrance are not only in a battle for seventh, but they are also fighting for the prestigious “Rookie of the Year” award.  Kelley, who used to race stock cars at Ascot, is 35-markers ahead of Robertson going into the race on the quarter-mile clay oval. 

2015 CLS Pont Standings

1. Bobby Michnowicz - Lomita - 2716

2. Alex Grigoreas - Upland - 2478

3. Jeff Dyer - Fort Irwin - 2466

4. Dan Hillberg - Placentia - 2298

5. Dale Gamer - Anaheim - 2173

6. James Heling - San Bernardino - 2118

7. Pat Kelley – Chino - 2051

8. Jon Robertson - Torrance - 2016

9. Don Kuener - Perris - 1638

10. Doug Nunes - Kingsburg - 1384 

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for the 2015 season, please call Bobby Michnowicz at: (310) 320-5569. 

To keep up with the CLS on line, please visit the web site at: 

2015 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule

March 7: Imperial Valley Raceway (El Centro) 1/4 Mile - Bobby Michnowicz
March 21: Bakersfield Speedway 1/3 Mile - Bobby Michnowicz (Civil War CLS vs BCRA)
April 11: Ventura Raceway 1/5 Mile - Doug Nunes
April 25: Bakersfield Speedway 1/3 Mile - Doug Nunes
May 9: Santa Maria Raceway 1/4 Mile - Alex Grigoreas
May 23: Perris Auto Speedway 1/2 Mile (Salute To Indy) - Bobby Michnowicz
June 6: Ventura Raceway 1/5 Mile - Bobby Michnowicz
June 20: Bakersfield Speedway 1/3 Mile - Bobby Michnowicz
July 4: Perris Auto Speedway 1/2 Mile (Firecracker) - Jarrett Kramer
July 18: Ventura Raceway 1/5 Mile - Rained Out

August 1: Merced (Civil War CLS vs BCRA) - Canceled
August 15: Perris Auto Speedway 1/2 Mile - Bobby Michnowicz
August 29: Santa Maria Raceway 1/4 Mile - Bobby Michnowicz
September 19: Perris Auto Speedway 1/2 Mile - Dan Hillberg
September 26: Bakersfield Speedway 1/3 Mile (Civil War CLS vs BCRA) - Bobby Michnowicz
October 17: Ventura Raceway 1/5 Mile - Bobby Michnowicz
November 21: Imperial Valley Raceway (El Centro) 1/4 Mile 


1994 Tony Everhart

1995 Gary Sexton

1996 Rob Sczymczak

1997 Jon Rahe

1998 Chris Rahe

1999 Brent Sexton

2000 Greg Bragg

2001 Greg Bragg

2002 Greg Bragg

2003 David Cardey

2004 Keith Janca

2005 Johnny Bates

2006 Donny Gansen

2007 Shane Rossen

2008 Brent Sexton

2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr.

2010 Jarrett Kramer

2011 Tim Brown

2012 Bobby Michnowicz

2013 Stephen Limon

2014 Bobby Michnowicz

2015 Bobby Michnowicz

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768

Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login

If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2018 Privacy Policy