HoseHeads.com | HoseHeads Classifieds | Racer's Auction
Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email | FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results | HoseheadsClassifieds.com

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login


Forum: HoseHeads LateModel General Forum (go)
Moderators: hosehead

Records per page
Topic: Bandits 2010 Banquet Review Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
Page 1 of 1   of  0 replies
January 11, 2011 at 06:17:11 AM
Joined: 06/21/2010
Posts: 31

Steel Block Bandits Late Model Racing Series

2010 Steel Block Bandits 2010 Awards Banquet and Hall of Fame Induction

At 6:30pm on Jan. 9th and with over 200 people in attendance, the Steel Block Bandits Awards Banquet was nothing short of spectacular. The evening started with a full course meal provided by the outstanding staff of the Lee Jackson/Best Western. The microphone was then turned over to Chris Fleming in which he spoke about the importance of family and balancing family life & racing. Fleming also reflected on his time with the Mad House Show. He concluded his speech by comparing the main characters on the Mad House Show to our top four drivers of our series in 2010.

There were 7 inductees into the Bandits Hall of Fame. The first inductee was also the first female to be inducted. Linda Timmons worked with her husband, Doug for 23 years at the Winchester Speedway. Daniel Brown Sr. was next in which Mike Donald spoke about his accomplishments. It was noted that he currently holds the most wins at Eastside Speedway. Dave Wilt also has an outstanding resume with Championships at Winchester and Hagerstown and wins at numerous tracks in the tri-state area. Ernie Davis from Martinsburg West Virginia was inducted for his accomplishments as a driver and car owner. As a driver, he has wins at Winchester, Potomac, Hagerstown to just name a few. As a car owner, he has wins with several drivers but has been on a hot streak with 2 time World of Outlaw Champion, Josh Richards. Roy Anderson from Winchester Virginia has wins in several divisions but is currently noted for his ability to build a top quality street stock. Not only is Roy a past champion and winner at numerous tracks but the cars that he builds hold the same reputation. If you travel south to Natural Bridge Speedway or Virginia Motor Speedway you will see the name Cecil B. Arthur. Cecil had a short career as a driver but as a sponsor and car owner his career has countless wins and championships. His son, Walker is the Bandits 2010 points champion and Jr Overstreet drove the Cecil B Arthur sponsored late model to a 3rd place finish in points at Natural Bridge in 2010. With 23 years as the promoter of Winchester Speedway and the current promoter of the Three State Flyers Series, Doug Timmons is a name that is well known in the racing community. Doug also owns numerous steel block late models, in which his cars have won 2 Bandit events.

Larry Ramsey from Natural Bridge was recognized as the 2009 Promoter of the year, with Rick Jones from Cumberland Speedway and Roaring Knob Speedway recognized as the 2010 Promoter of the Year. Danny Wilson also pointed out representatives from Virginia Motor Speedway (Brian Tidball), Hagerstown Speedway (Doug Watson) & Winchester Speedway (Jimmy Saville). Jason Smith and Larry O’Donohugh were in attendance from In The Pits Radio 106.7.

Driver Special Awards:
• The Ralph Davis Sportsmanship Award – Kyle Merkel & Gerald Davis
• The Chris Loan Most Dedicated Award – Roy Clower
• Best Represented – Bruce Kane
• Promoters Choice – Kris Looney & Andy Fries
• Top Crew – Team Brannon, Team Leavell & Team Davis
• Most Improved - Daniel Brown Jr

Glory Days Grill Young Bandits Awards
1. Walker Arthur
2. Kyle Merkel
3. Daniel Brown Jr

D & D Heat Race Championship
1. Walker Arthur
2. Kyle Merkel
3. Joey Leavell

Steel Block Bandits Points Championship
1. Walker Arthur
2. Bruce Kane
3. Joey Leavell
4. Kyle Merkel
5. Gerald Davis
6. Andy Fries
7. Allen Brannon
8. Daniel Brown Jr
9. Kris Looney
10. Roy Clower

The Series also recognized their top sponsors from 2010:

Ernie D’s Enterprises, D&D Auto Recycling, Cecil B. Arthur General Contractors, Cline Construction, Glory Days Grill, Muddslinger Web Services, Walrus Sign & Embroidery, Cliff Dove Motorsports Photography, Hoosier Mid-Atlantic.

The night concluded with The Revolution Band rocking the house.


Erica Miller
Marketing/PR/Special Event Coordinator
Steel Block Bandits
"The REAL men of Steel"

Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login

If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at HoseHeadForums.com
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2018 HoseHeadForums.com Privacy Policy