California Lightning Sprints
Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email | FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results |

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login


Forum: California Lightning Sprints (go)
Moderators: CLS Dan  /  ljennings  /  smokinokie

Records per page
Topic: CALIFORNIA LIGHTNING SPRINT CARS AT VENTURA ON SATURDAY! Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
Page 1 of 1   of  0 replies
April 04, 2017 at 03:05:24 PM
Joined: 11/14/2006
Posts: 2852


22126 South Vermont, Unit A

Torrance, CA 90502

(310) 320-5569

FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT: Bobby Michnowicz (310) 320-5569

For Immediate Release


(Torrance, CA, April 4, 2017) The California Lightning Sprint Car Series will make its first appearance of 2017 at its home track, the Ventura Raceway, this Saturday night, April 8th.  The race will be the first of seven for the CLS at the gorgeous track that is on the Ventura County Fairgrounds.  In addition to the CLS, the VRA Sprint Cars, IMCA Modifieds, Dwarf Cars and Hobby Stocks will also be in action.  Spectator gates will open at 3:00.  Qualifying will start at 3:30 and the first race will be at 5:30.

Saturday’s race will be the third of 2017 for the CLS and so far, it has been all about Spring Valley’s Jarrett Kramer.  The 2010 series champion has two wins and a second-place finish in the first three races of the campaign.  The upfront finishes see the soon to be 35-year-old driver carry a 29-point lead over San Diego State Senior and 2016 “Rookie of the Year” Cody Nigh of Camarillo heading into Saturday’s race.  Two-time champ Brent Sexton of Lakeside, fast teen Aiden Lange of Lakewood and California Highway Patrol officer Jeff “Ponch” Dyer of Victorville round out the top five.

In 2016 the CLS made eight appearances at the picturesque track that is located adjacent to the Pacific Ocean.  Four-time series champion Bobby Michnowicz of Lomita, who broke in hot laps at Bakersfield two weeks ago, led the way with three wins.  Dyer had two wins at the track called “The Best Little Dirt Track in America,” and Upland’s Alex Grigoreas, Pat Kelley of Chino and Ventura’s Bruce Douglass had one each.

Dyer won the last CLS race at Ventura two days prior to Halloween last October.  Kramer finished second in that affair.  They were running in that order two weeks ago at Bakersfield when Dyer had a battery cable come off resulting in a disappointing 17th place finish for him while Kramer streaked off to his second win of the year.

The Ventura Raceway is conveniently located just off the 101 freeway on the Ventura County Fairgrounds at 10 West Harbor Boulevard, Ventura, CA  93001.  The track phone number is (805) 648-RACE.  There will be plenty of tickets for everyone at the gate on Saturday. 

The California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2017 season possible: Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, DK Fabrication, Extreme Muffler, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Outlaw Wings, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Saldana Race Products, Sander Engineering, Speedmart, Speed Partz, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless, Woodland Auto Display.

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for the 2017 season, please call Bobby Michnowicz at: (310) 320-5569.

To keep up with the CLS on line, please visit the web site at:


California Lightning Sprints Championship Point Standings

1. Jarrett Kramer – Spring Valley – 415

2. Cody Nigh – Camarillo – 386

3. Brent Sexton – Lakeside – 350

4. Aiden Lange – Lakewood – 339

5. Jeff Dyer - Victorville - 316

6. Wyatt Downing – Lakewood – 285

7. Eric Greco – Palmdale - 276

8. Ken Coulston – Bermuda Dunes - 255

9. Dan Hillberg – Placentia - 248

10. Bobby Michnowicz – Lomita - 246


2017 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule


March 11: Imperial Valley Raceway – California Midwinter Fair – Jarrett Kramer

March 12: Imperial Valley Raceway – California Midwinter Fair – Bobby Michnowicz

March 25: Bakersfield Speedway – Civil War with BCRA – Jarrett Kramer

April 8: Ventura Raceway – USAC National

April 22: Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National

May 5: Silver Dollar Speedway – Civil War w/BCRA

May 6: Placerville Speedway – Civil War w/BCRA

May 27: Perris Auto Speedway – Salute to Indy - USAC National

June 3: Ventura Raceway – USAC National

June 17: Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National

June 24: Santa Maria Raceway – USAC National

July 8: Ventura Raceway – USAC National

August 2: Ventura Raceway – Fair Race - USAC National

August 26: Perris Auto Speedway – Hall of Fame Race– USAC National

September 2: Ventura Raceway – USAC National

September 23: Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National

October 7: Ventura Raceway – Civil War w/BCRA

October 28: Ventura Raceway – USAC National

**=Proposed Date.
This schedule is subject to change. 


1994 Tony Everhart

1995 Gary Sexton

1996 Rob Sczymczak

1997 Jon Rahe

1998 Chris Rahe

1999 Brent Sexton

2000 Greg Bragg

2001 Greg Bragg

2002 Greg Bragg

2003 David Cardey

2004 Keith Janca

2005 Johnny Bates

2006 Donny Gansen

2007 Shane Rossen

2008 Brent Sexton

2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr.

2010 Jarrett Kramer

2011 Tim Brown

2012 Bobby Michnowicz

2013 Stephen Limon

2014 Bobby Michnowicz

2015 Bobby Michnowicz

2016 Bobby Michnowicz

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768

Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login

If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2018 Privacy Policy