HoseHeads.com | HoseHeads Classifieds | Racer's Auction
Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email | FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results | HoseheadsClassifieds.com


Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login

 

Forum: HoseHeads Sprint Car General Forum (go)
Moderators: dirtonly  /  dmantx  /  hosehead


Records per page
 
Topic: 2014 Chili Bowl "A" Main question... Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
Page 2 of 2   of  23 replies
Mod9Fan
January 22, 2014 at 05:19:42 PM
Joined: 04/22/2010
Posts: 354
Reply

I think it would be interesting to be in the drivers meeting before hand to see if they actually covered that possibility. If you noticed in the infield there are chalked in areas where it looks as if you are not suppose to be outside of those lines. So I would think there is some sort of plan in place for cars that do get into the infield under power. 



VHSHMS
MyWebsite
January 22, 2014 at 05:43:54 PM
Joined: 01/20/2014
Posts: 2
Reply
Reply to:
Posted By: Points on January 22 2014 at 02:04:50 PM

I figure he ended up a lap down because the transponder did not cross the start/finish line. No yellow because he did not stop. he just decided to do turn 1 and 2 twice. When he finally finished his lap and a half he was scored in 22nd place. the way it worked out the officials did not need to do anything. Sammy had penalized himself already IMO.

wonder what the call would of been had he gone through the infield and entered the track on the turn four side of the start line recording a completed lap by way of the transponder? In this case he would not have been autmatically a lap done.



Agree that the transponders caught the infraction...but my concern is that he maintained "track" position....despite the fact he did not "complete" the lap....by leaving him in the position....he had the potential to become a blocker....just sayin'

 

 

 

 



opnwhlr
January 22, 2014 at 05:45:26 PM
Joined: 08/15/2012
Posts: 1620
Reply

Sammy is bigger than the Chili Bowl!  Wink


 
I LEARNED ESP FROM MY MOM

"PUT YOUR SWEATER ON: DON'T YOU THINK I KNOW WHEN 
YOU'RE COLD?"


vande77
January 23, 2014 at 01:07:55 PM
Joined: 01/20/2005
Posts: 2079
Reply
Reply to:
Posted By: VHSHMS on January 22 2014 at 05:43:54 PM

Agree that the transponders caught the infraction...but my concern is that he maintained "track" position....despite the fact he did not "complete" the lap....by leaving him in the position....he had the potential to become a blocker....just sayin'

 

 

 

 




If anything he lost "track" position.  He was just in front of the leader and went a lap down to him (Clausen) just a few laps later.

He would have had better "track" position if he had stopped and brought out the yellow (he'd have only been a 1/2 lap behind Clausen when they re-took the green.

IMO, EVERY car has the "potential" to be a "blocker".  And some are and they just don't know it.  From what I saw on TV, Sammy was maintaining a line, the others could pass him whenever they could get fast enough to do so.  Kevin also wanted to run the high line, thus Sammy ended up "Blocking" Keven for multiple laps and may have been the reason Kevin didn't get to the front (it took him too long to get by Sammy). 

However, I highly doubt anyone had anything for Clausen , seemed to me he was pulling away on an open track and in traffic.





Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login





If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at HoseHeadForums.com
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2025 HoseHeadForums.com Privacy Policy