HoseHeads.com | HoseHeads Classifieds | Racer's Auction
Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email | FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results | HoseheadsClassifieds.com

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login


Forum: HoseHeads LateModel General Forum (go)
Moderators: hosehead

Records per page
Topic: Steel Block Bandits Official Results at Roaring Knob Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
Page 1 of 1   of  0 replies
October 25, 2010 at 12:09:15 PM
Joined: 06/21/2010
Posts: 31

Cline Construction Steel Block Bandits
October 22-23, 2010
Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex
Markleysburg, PA

The Bandits hit the road for their finale heading down US-40 to the Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex in Markleysburg, PA. The track owned and promoted by Rick Jones would see 23 cars sign in with Kyle Lear of Severna Park, MD setting fast time Friday night with a time of 16.03 seconds, Lear would go on to win the first heat event. Rick Singleton and Matt Gaston would win the other two events.

A balmy evening was the setting for the final night of the two night show with comfortable fall temperatures making for a great night for racing. At the outset Kyle Lear jumped from the pole and into the lead, but the caution would quickly come out when John Cain lost control slamming into Kristian Looney who turned up the track and collected Waynesboro, VA driver Joey Leavell, knocking Leavell out of the race and out of a heated battle amongst himself, Kyle Merkel, and Bruce Kane for second place in the points. The caution would again come out with two complete when the aforementioned duo of Merkel and Lear got together.

When the race got back underway Kyle Lear saw a challenge from Forest, VA driver Walker Arthur who had already locked the Bandits title coming in. But Walker Arthur was not to settle for anything but victory and took the lead from Lear and began to steadily pull away from a developing battle for second place. As the field hit the one third mark Kyle Lear and Rick Singleton along with Matt Howsare began battling through lapped traffic, sawing back and forth in a spectacular battle but as the trio came up onto the lapped machine of Roy Clower the daring battle would come to an end as Kyle Lear got into the Romney, WV driver and spun to a stop collecting Matt Howsare in the process. Howsare would retire, but Lear would assume position at the tail of the field.

At the green flag Arthur again pulled ahead of Singleton who had Frankie Plessinger and Trever Feathers hot in pursuit. Arthur was clearing the field by a straightaway and was well ahead when Trever Feathers ran into trouble spinning out in turn two with eight to go. At that point Kyle Lear who had started back in the tail following his lap thirteen incident was now up to fourth. A final caution with six to go for Matt Gaston allowed the field one last opportunity but once again Walker Arthur cleared ahead as Kyle Lear worked under Plessinger into third, and as Walker Arthur cruised to the $3,000 win Kyle Lear would surpass Singleton on the final lap and secure second at the finish. Rounding out the top five was Andy Fries. Kyle Merkel would finish sixth, with the top ten being rounded out by Matt Cosner, Bruce Kane, Trever Feathers, and Matt Gaston.

Walker Arthur would bookend the season with his third win of the year(he won the lidlifter at The Rock in April, and also won an event at County Line in NC in June)and would visit Ernie D’s victory lane as a race winner and the second Cline Construction Steel Block Bandits champion. The second season for the Danny Wilson run series ends a success with participation up and full fields the norm throughout the 14 event season. The Steel Block Bandits look forward to an expanded schedule in 2011 and will celebrate the season on January 8th at the Lee-Jackson in Winchester, VA.

1. 87 Walker Arthur
2. 151 Kyle Lear
3. 99* Rick Singleton
4. 16T Frankie Plessinger
5. 82 Andy Fries
6. 117 Kyle Merkel
7. 66C Matt Cosner
8. 1K Bruce Kane
9. 00 Trever Feathers
10. 93 Matt Gaston
11. 10 Ryan Christoff
12. 10JR Daniel Brown, Jr.
13. 18 Jeffrey Spooner
14. 25 John Cain
15. 45 Roy Clower
16. 5H Matt Howsare
17. 12R Tracie Sampson
18. 66 Don Woodruff
19. 13 Steve Wilmoth
20. 9Q Kristian Looney
21. 8L Joey Leavell
DNS: Russell Baird(17), KC Burdette(KC44)

Lap Leaders: Kyle Lear 1 – 3, Walker Arthur 4 – 30

D&D Auto Recycling Heats:
Heat 1: Kyle Lear, Walker Arthur, Kyle Merkel, Bruce Kane, Daniel Brown, Jr., John Cain, Don Woodruff,Steve Wilmoth
Heat 2: Rick Singleton, Andy Fries, Matt Cosner, Tracie Sampson, Trever Feathers, Roy Clower, Ryan Christoff, Joey Leavell
Heat 3: Matt Gaston, Matt Howsare, Frankie Plessinger, Jeffrey Spooner, Russell Baird, Kristian Looney, KC Burdette

Special thanks to the following: Steel Block Mafia, Cline Construction, Ernie D’s Enterprises, Glory Days Grill, D&D Auto Recycling, Revolution Band, Muddslinger Web Services, Walrus Signs & Embroidery & Dehaven Well Drilling.

"The REAL men of STEEL"


Erica Miller
Marketing/PR/Special Event Coordinator
Steel Block Bandits
"The REAL men of Steel"

Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login

If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at HoseHeadForums.com
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2018 HoseHeadForums.com Privacy Policy