HoseHeads.com | HoseHeads Classifieds | Racer's Auction
Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email | FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results | RacersAuction.com | HoseheadsClassifieds.com
Hoosier Tire Great Plains | Hoosier Mid Atlantic | Racing Warehouse | Precise Racing | Performance Race Parts | Xtreme Race Parts

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login

 

Forum: HoseHeads Sprint Car General Forum (go)
Moderators: filtalr  /  hosehead


Records per page
 
Topic: Rule interpretation Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
Page 1 of 2   of  24 replies
RodinCanada
MyWebsite
October 22, 2017 at 10:16:34 AM
Joined: 07/24/2016
Posts: 121
Reply

Just curious how the start of the Salina race could be ruled. Imo Stewart was 100% responsible for the Gravel roll over but Stewart gets to restart on the pole. No penalty for causing a red. What is the rule?




dglennon
October 22, 2017 at 10:27:04 AM
Joined: 11/30/2004
Posts: 10
Reply
Reply to:
Posted By: RodinCanada on October 22 2017 at 10:16:34 AM

Just curious how the start of the Salina race could be ruled. Imo Stewart was 100% responsible for the Gravel roll over but Stewart gets to restart on the pole. No penalty for causing a red. What is the rule?



Easy— if you stop you go to the back. Leave the “interpretation“ rules for stock cars



blazer00
October 22, 2017 at 11:06:40 AM
Joined: 06/10/2015
Posts: 1387
Reply
Reply to:
Posted By: RodinCanada on October 22 2017 at 10:16:34 AM

Just curious how the start of the Salina race could be ruled. Imo Stewart was 100% responsible for the Gravel roll over but Stewart gets to restart on the pole. No penalty for causing a red. What is the rule?



Actually it was Sweet that took Gravel out not Stewart. Not uncommon for Sweet. I've seen him dump more drivers in the past 4-5 years than I ever saw Sammy get into!



rubber down
October 22, 2017 at 11:22:05 AM
Joined: 04/19/2009
Posts: 109
Reply
Reply to:
Posted By: RodinCanada on October 22 2017 at 10:16:34 AM

Just curious how the start of the Salina race could be ruled. Imo Stewart was 100% responsible for the Gravel roll over but Stewart gets to restart on the pole. No penalty for causing a red. What is the rule?



In this case because of the red. Even if he stopped right at the accident, with damage, he goes back to the front. Assuming no work area needed.  



RodinCanada
MyWebsite
October 23, 2017 at 12:16:22 AM
Joined: 07/24/2016
Posts: 121
Reply

Yes sorry got my essess mixed up. So you can roll your opponent and carry on and you dont have any penalty for doing so unless you stop yourself? Seems wrong.



Dlucks83
October 23, 2017 at 07:22:14 AM
Joined: 07/25/2017
Posts: 13
Reply
Reply to:
Posted By: blazer00 on October 22 2017 at 11:06:40 AM

Actually it was Sweet that took Gravel out not Stewart. Not uncommon for Sweet. I've seen him dump more drivers in the past 4-5 years than I ever saw Sammy get into!



How much of Sammy have you actually seen because that incident doesn't even register on Sammy's list.



blazer00
October 23, 2017 at 09:10:55 AM
Joined: 06/10/2015
Posts: 1387
Reply
Reply to:
Posted By: Dlucks83 on October 23 2017 at 07:22:14 AM

How much of Sammy have you actually seen because that incident doesn't even register on Sammy's list.



100's !



Johnny Utah
October 23, 2017 at 09:15:50 AM
Joined: 07/15/2014
Posts: 523
Reply
Reply to:
Posted By: RodinCanada on October 23 2017 at 12:16:22 AM

Yes sorry got my essess mixed up. So you can roll your opponent and carry on and you dont have any penalty for doing so unless you stop yourself? Seems wrong.



Meh, shit happens. It was slider gone wrong. It happens from time to time. 



FORD97
October 23, 2017 at 09:27:13 AM
Joined: 11/30/2004
Posts: 1135
Reply
Reply to:
Posted By: Johnny Utah on October 23 2017 at 09:15:50 AM

Meh, shit happens. It was slider gone wrong. It happens from time to time. 



Someone should show him that video of Dollansky knocking Kasey Kahne out of the park at WG a few years back.

 


IBRACN: "page hits are page hits..."

Dryslick Willie
October 23, 2017 at 10:36:03 AM
Joined: 12/17/2009
Posts: 1033
Reply
Reply to:
Posted By: FORD97 on October 23 2017 at 09:27:13 AM

Someone should show him that video of Dollansky knocking Kasey Kahne out of the park at WG a few years back.

 



Yeah, I remember that one.   Pretty blatant, and obviously for revenge.   



Billmark
October 23, 2017 at 03:04:33 PM
Joined: 10/23/2017
Posts: 4
Reply

It's on YouTube from 2011

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4mSG5WJ3cjs

 



FORD97
October 24, 2017 at 07:22:10 AM
Joined: 11/30/2004
Posts: 1135
Reply
Reply to:
Posted By: Billmark on October 23 2017 at 03:04:33 PM

It's on YouTube from 2011

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4mSG5WJ3cjs

 



Now THAT is a punting.


IBRACN: "page hits are page hits..."

Johnny Utah
October 24, 2017 at 09:01:57 AM
Joined: 07/15/2014
Posts: 523
Reply
Reply to:
Posted By: FORD97 on October 24 2017 at 07:22:10 AM

Now THAT is a punting.



Yuuup.

I can't find video of it anywhere, but the one Sammy put on Tanner Thorson at the World Finals a couple of years ago was another one. 



FORD97
October 24, 2017 at 10:19:06 AM
Joined: 11/30/2004
Posts: 1135
Reply
Reply to:
Posted By: Johnny Utah on October 24 2017 at 09:01:57 AM

Yuuup.

I can't find video of it anywhere, but the one Sammy put on Tanner Thorson at the World Finals a couple of years ago was another one. 



Being punted by the swindler is how you know you've arrived in this sport.


IBRACN: "page hits are page hits..."

Stroker_Race
October 24, 2017 at 11:40:26 AM
Joined: 01/11/2013
Posts: 273
Reply
Reply to:
Posted By: Dlucks83 on October 23 2017 at 07:22:14 AM

How much of Sammy have you actually seen because that incident doesn't even register on Sammy's list.



I've seen plenty.  Anyone remember the heat race at Charlotte where Sammy dumped both Paul McMahon and Cody Darrah in the same heat race in 2 seperate instances?  I'm pretty sure Darrah made a mad dash, on foot to visit Sammy during that red.



BigRightRear
October 24, 2017 at 12:03:17 PM
Joined: 11/27/2004
Posts: 3665
Reply

I think Cody rearranged Sammy's spark plug wires under the red after an incident at the Grove...if I recall...


Lincoln 1845 ft/.35 mile T1=118MPH 
Eldora 2287 ft/.43mile T3=135MPH
Port 2716 ft/.51 mile T3=TBD
Grove 2792 ft/.53 mile T3=135MPH
Selinsgrove 2847 ft/.54 mile T1=136MPH
"I didn't move to PA from El Paso in search of better 
weather." Van May

chathamracefan1
October 24, 2017 at 12:21:26 PM
Joined: 08/03/2008
Posts: 62
Reply

I think Sammy at Charlotte was on TV also & he tried to blame Darrah for it if I recall correctly.  It was kind of laughable.  



FORD97
October 24, 2017 at 01:05:02 PM
Joined: 11/30/2004
Posts: 1135
Reply
Reply to:
Posted By: BigRightRear on October 24 2017 at 12:03:17 PM

I think Cody rearranged Sammy's spark plug wires under the red after an incident at the Grove...if I recall...



Sides? I know Sides did that once.

 


IBRACN: "page hits are page hits..."

ilikeposse
October 26, 2017 at 05:54:29 AM
Joined: 05/10/2017
Posts: 37
Reply

Wow, really?  I just watched highlights on youtube, there is no way in hell anyone thinks that is Sweets fault.  Pause the video at :18, :19, and :20 seconds and notice that Sweets Right Rear is in front of Gravels Left Front...Gravel had the option of lifting and tries to drive around him and Sweet continues to slide up.  That's Sprint Car racing at it's best, not taking someone out.  At :19 seconds Sweet can't even see Gravel.  If you've never drove one before, that small little 1.5 second frame will explain how fast shit happens as well.  Gravel crashed, Gravel goes to tail. PERIOD!



blazer00
October 26, 2017 at 09:17:27 AM
Joined: 06/10/2015
Posts: 1387
Reply

Your description is accurate, but during a slidejob if momentum or line is lost a driver needs to back off the throttle. Sweet may have been "ahead" of Gravel when he was a full line underneath him during the early part of the slide job, but he lost momentum well in to the slide job and came up right into Gravel. It's seen all the time when a driver backs off late into a slide job and avoids collision because he knows the momentum just isn't there. But Sweet has shown many times he just doesn't have the control to know the difference. In fact, if you watch the current field of WoO drivers today aside from Schatz, they are all making too many mistakes in tight racing or lapped traffic. They are all good in clean air, all by themselves, but that's about it. That is what sets Donny apart from the rest of them.





Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login





If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at HoseHeadForums.com
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2017 HoseHeadForums.com Privacy Policy