California Lightning Sprints
Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email | FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results |

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login


Forum: California Lightning Sprints (go)
Moderators: CLS Dan  /  ljennings  /  smokinokie

Records per page
Topic: CALIFORNIA LIGHTNING SPRINT CARS AT BAKERSFIELD SPEEDWAY SATURDAY! Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
Page 1 of 1   of  0 replies
June 13, 2017 at 05:33:06 PM
Joined: 11/14/2006
Posts: 2914


22126 South Vermont, Unit A

Torrance, CA 90502

(310) 320-5569

FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT: Bobby Michnowicz (310) 320-5569

For Immediate Release


(Torrance, CA, June 13, 2017) The 2017 California Lightning Sprint Car/USAC Series will hit its halfway point when the troupe journeys to the Bakersfield Speedway for the third time this Saturday night, June 17th.  Joining the CLS on the program will be the Sport Mods, Hobby Stocks, Mini Stocks and Mini Dwarfs. Spectator gates will open at 4:00 PM and the first race will be at 6:00.

Going into Saturday’s race, Spring Valley’s Jarrett Kramer, the 2010 CLS champion, sits on top of the point standings.  The 36-year, who has two wins on the year, has been the point leader since the first race of the season at El Centro on March 11th.  2017 CLS “Rookie of the Year” Cody Nigh of Camarillo had crept to within 20-points of the season long leader, but comes into the race at Bakersfield 60-points behind in second place.  Teenager Aiden Lange of Lakewood, four-time series champ Bobby Michnowicz of Lomita and Eric Greco of Palmdale comprise the remainder of the top five heading into Saturday’s race on the 1/3 of a mile high-banked clay oval. 

Kramer won the first Bakersfield race on March 25th.  Michnowicz captured the other one on April 22nd.  Michnowicz is on top of the CLS in overall wins with three this year.  Kramer’s two victories make him the only other driver with more than one.  Murrieta’s Chris Dickey, who is contesting his last season racing in Southern California before heading home to Indiana, San Diego’s A.J. Bender and Zack Keefe of Washington have won the other three races. 

The Bakersfield Speedway is located at 5001 N Chester Ext in Bakersfield (93308).  The track phone number is: (661) 393-3373.  Fans can visit the track website by clicking on the following link:

After Saturday, the CLS will get right back at when it visits the Santa Maria Raceway for the only time in 2017 on June 24th.

The California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2017 season possible: Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, DK Fabrication, Extreme Muffler, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Outlaw Wings, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Saldana Race Products, Sander Engineering, Speedmart, Speed Partz, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless, Woodland Auto Display.

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for the 2017 season, please call Bobby Michnowicz at: (310) 320-5569.

To keep up with the CLS online, please visit the website at:


California Lightning Sprints Championship Point Standings

1. Jarrett Kramer – Spring Valley – 943

2. Cody Nigh – Camarillo – 883

3. Aiden Lange - Lakewood – 868

4. Bobby Michnowicz – Lomita – 838

5. Eric Greco – Palmdale - 766

6. Brent Sexton - Lakeside – 714

7. Wyatt Downing Lakewood - 638

8. Chris Dickey - Murrieta - 626

9. Dan Hillberg – Placentia - 557

10. Dominic Del Monte – Gardena – 525


2017 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule


March 11: Imperial Valley Raceway – California Midwinter Fair – Jarrett Kramer

March 12: Imperial Valley Raceway – California Midwinter Fair – Bobby Michnowicz

March 25: Bakersfield Speedway – Civil War with BCRA – Jarrett Kramer

April 8: Ventura Raceway – USAC National – Rained Out

April 22: Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National – Bobby Michnowicz

May 5: Silver Dollar Speedway – Civil War w/BCRA – Chris Dickey

May 6: Placerville Speedway – Civil War w/BCRA – Zach Keefe

May 27: Perris Auto Speedway – Salute to Indy - USAC National – Bobby Michnowicz

June 3: Ventura Raceway – USAC National – A.J. Bender

June 17: Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National

June 24: Santa Maria Raceway – USAC National

July 8: Ventura Raceway – USAC National

August 2: Ventura Raceway – Fair Race - USAC National

August 26: Perris Auto Speedway – Hall of Fame Race– USAC National

September 2: Ventura Raceway – USAC National

September 23: Bakersfield Speedway – USAC National

October 7: Ventura Raceway – Civil War w/BCRA

October 28: Ventura Raceway – USAC National

**=Proposed Date.
This schedule is subject to change. 


1994 Tony Everhart

1995 Gary Sexton

1996 Rob Sczymczak

1997 Jon Rahe

1998 Chris Rahe

1999 Brent Sexton

2000 Greg Bragg

2001 Greg Bragg

2002 Greg Bragg

2003 David Cardey

2004 Keith Janca

2005 Johnny Bates

2006 Donny Gansen

2007 Shane Rossen

2008 Brent Sexton

2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr.

2010 Jarrett Kramer

2011 Tim Brown

2012 Bobby Michnowicz

2013 Stephen Limon

2014 Bobby Michnowicz

2015 Bobby Michnowicz

2016 Bobby Michnowicz

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768

Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login

If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2019 Privacy Policy