California Lightning Sprints
Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results | |
Hoosier Tire Great Plains | Hoosier Mid Atlantic | Racing Warehouse | Performance Race Parts | Xtreme Race Parts

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login


Forum: California Lightning Sprints (go)
Moderators: CLS Dan  /  ljennings  /  smokinokie

Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
First | Previous | Next | Last Reply 1 to 1 of 1
April 05, 2011 at 09:30:18 AM
Joined: 11/14/2006
Posts: 3034



413 Saint Andrews Place

Placentia, CA 92870

(714) 719-0295

[email protected]

FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT: Dan Hillberg (714) 719-0295 or [email protected]

For Immediate Release


(Perris, CA, April 2, 2011) By the time California Lightning Sprint Car Series finished their second appearance of the season at Perris Auto Speedway on Saturday night, the only difference was the age of the main event winner. At the season opener on March 12th, 16-year-old Kevin Michnowicz beat 51-year-old Tim Brown to the Kevin Winters' checkered flag. Last Saturday Michnowicz, now 17, again beat Brown to the checkered flag for the main event win before a good size crowd.

Michnowicz, in the black Timeless Enterprises #21 owned by his parents, dominated the program from the time he drove into the track's parking lot. He swept the show by out qualifying the field with a lap of 17.910 around the half-mile oval. He then came back to win his six lap heat race before winning the 20-lap main lap main.

Dan Lancaster, who had not raced with the CLS in seven or eight years, was on the pole for the main event with 15-year-old Jacob Will to his right. Alexander Bissett and veteran Dan Hillberg were in the second row, with Paul Krueger and Guy Maresch in row three. The fastest row on the grid was row four with Brown on the inside and Michnowicz outside of him.

When the green flag dropped, it was Will first into turn one chased by Hillberg and Lancaster. Michnowicz, in an amazing charge, was up to third by the end of the first circuit. From that point it was just a matter of time before he would take the lead. He blasted past Will at the end of lap three and ran away from the remainder of the snarling pack.

Will's car had been smoking in his heat race and it started smoking again early in the main. He slowed on lap four and that moved Brown up to second. Meanwhile there was a screaming #5X tearing through the field after starting last. Thirteen-year-old Sheldon Creed missed qualifying when he arrived late after racing off-road trophy carts earlier in the day at nearby Glen Helen. Creed looked like a missile as weaved his way through the traffic. While Michnowicz was in a class all by himself and running away at the front, many in the large crowd turned their attention to the thrilling run by Creed. He found himself in fourth on lap five and took Hillberg one lap later for third. Hillberg dropped out on the next go around and Creed charged to Brown's tail tank and they staged a torrid fight for the second place spot through the remainder of the race.

At the end of 20, Michnowicz had waltzed his way to another win at The PAS. Brown narrowly edged Creed for second after they banged wheels coming out of turn four heading for the checkered. Maresch took the fourth spot in his yellow paisley car and Bissett was fifth.

In addition to Michnowicz, Brown and Creed won six lap heat races earlier in the program.

The next high-speed outing for the CLS will be on Saturday, April 16 at the Ventura Raceway.

The California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for their support in the 2011 season: Performance by Rosson Racing, DK Machine and Fabrication , Sander Engineering, Elliott's Powder Coating, Circle Track Performance, Hoosier Tires, Racing Optics and the Christian Stover Foundation. If you or your company would like to become part of the California Lightning Series for the 2011 season, please call Dan Hillberg at: (714) 719-0295

Main Event: 1. Kevin Michnowicz, 2. Tim Brown, 3. Sheldon Creed, 4. Guy Maresch,

6. Dan Lancaster, 7. Paul Krueger, 8. Donna Kotlinski, 9. Dale Gamer, 10. John Sparland, 11. Dan Hillberg, , 12. Stephen Limon, 13. Jacob Will, 14. Darren Hillberg, 15. Gabby Robles

California Lightning Series Points: 1. Kevin Michnowicz 277, 2. Tim Brown 270, 3. Sheldon Creed, 4. Guy Maresch 218, 5. Dan Hillberg 194, 6. Jacob Will 188, 7. Alexander Bissett 185, 8. Donna Kotlinski 173, 9. Darren Hillberg 161, 10. Gabby Robles 153

2011 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule

March 12 - Perris Auto Speedway - Winner Kevin Michnowicz

April 2nd - Perris Auto Speedway - Winner Kevin Michnowicz

April 16th - Ventura Raceway

April 30th - Bakersfield Speedway

May 14th - Santa Maria Speedway

May 28th - Perris Auto Speedway

May 29th - Victorville Raceway Park (T)

July 2nd - Perris Auto Speedway

July 23rd - Bakersfield Speedway

July 30th - Perris Auto Speedway

August 20th - Perris Auto Speedway

August 27th - Santa Maria Speedway

September 24th - Bakersfield Speedway

October 15th - Ventura Raceway

October 29th - Victorville Raceway Park (T)

November 4th - Perris Auto Speedway

November 5th - Perris Auto Speedway


1994 Tony Everhart
1995 Gary Sexton
1996 Rob Sczymczak
1997 Jon Rahe
1998 Chris Rahe
1999 Brent Sexton
2000 Greg Bragg
2001 Greg Bragg
2002 Greg Bragg
2003 David Cardey
2004 Keith Janca
2005 Johnny Bates
2006 Donny Ganson
2007 Shane Rosson
2008 Brent Sexton
2009 Stuart Hielcshier Sr.
2010 Jarrett Kramer

Press Release produced by Scott Daloisio Sports. (909) 226-7768 or [email protected]

First | Previous | Next | Last Reply 1 to 1 of 1

Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login


If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2019 Privacy Policy