HoseHeads.com | HoseHeads Classifieds | Racer's Auction
Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results | RacersAuction.com | HoseheadsClassifieds.com
Hoosier Tire Great Plains | Hoosier Mid Atlantic | Racing Warehouse | Performance Race Parts | Xtreme Race Parts

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login

 

Forum: HoseHeads Sprint Car General Forum (go)
Moderators: filtalr  /  hosehead

Topic: 70th lap
Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
First | Previous | Next | Last Reply 1 to 9 of 9
RodinCanada
MyWebsite
March 01, 2018 at 03:49:32 PM
Joined: 07/24/2016
Posts: 261
Reply

Saw some tweets about a mistake, something to due with a 70th lap. Just curious what this is all about. If anyone has the answer please dont be vague. Thx



motorhead748
March 01, 2018 at 03:58:54 PM
Joined: 08/05/2010
Posts: 473
Reply

At each race it is determined how many total laps both yellow and red that can be run before they have a fuel stop. So if it's a 30 lap A and let's say by the 20th lap there have already been 41 yellow laps ran, simple math dictates their be a red for a fuel stop. I think the confusion last night was that a car stopped on the 70th lap before the actual red for fuel  was thrown. 



armyduke
March 01, 2018 at 06:24:22 PM
Joined: 08/12/2005
Posts: 231
Reply
This message was edited on March 01, 2018 at 06:24:56 PM by armyduke

Confusion was it was announced that it was the 70th lap but in reality it was the 61st lap but with 9 laps remaining the math said to throw the red.  Yes one ran out of fuel as the red was being thrown . 



RodinCanada
MyWebsite
March 01, 2018 at 10:09:50 PM
Joined: 07/24/2016
Posts: 261
Reply

So basically they will throw a red for fuel on the 70th actual lap slightly modified for each unique situation?????



Jake B.
March 02, 2018 at 07:25:36 AM
Joined: 10/21/2005
Posts: 336
Reply
Reply to:
Posted By: RodinCanada on March 01 2018 at 10:09:50 PM

So basically they will throw a red for fuel on the 70th actual lap slightly modified for each unique situation?????



It's not always going to be 70 green+yellow laps as a maximum.  That number will fluctuate depending on the track.  The math equation would be:

Max laps - scheduled green laps = max yellow laps

Once the max yellow laps value is reached it's time for a fuel stop, regardless of how many green flag laps are left.


Signature here.

RodinCanada
MyWebsite
March 02, 2018 at 08:50:57 AM
Joined: 07/24/2016
Posts: 261
Reply

Thx



Stroker_Race
March 02, 2018 at 09:42:13 AM
Joined: 01/11/2013
Posts: 293
Reply
Reply to:
Posted By: armyduke on March 01 2018 at 06:24:22 PM

Confusion was it was announced that it was the 70th lap but in reality it was the 61st lap but with 9 laps remaining the math said to throw the red.  Yes one ran out of fuel as the red was being thrown . 



Not exactly how it went down.  First, Ian Madsen ran out of fuel during a green flag run and stopped in turn 3 and 4 thus bringing out the caution.  During the caution, while cars were still idling around, the 5 car of Gravel ran out on the backstretch.  The yellow stayed out for at least another lap until the red was thrown.  This was lap 61 and still 9 laps short of the announced number of 70.  Now what Mr. Gibson and the WoO officials ever failed to mention was that Madsen was out of fuel.  Johny simply said "the crew for the 18 team has finished repairs and he will rejoin the field from the rear."  Yea, they had repairs done, they dumped some fuel in and and BAM, it was fixed.  In the meantime, Gravel gets his spot back, even though he stopped and was out of fuel BEFORE the red was ever displayed but Madsen had to go to the rear.  Add the fact that the 41 of JJ spun after contact with the 1S of Logan on an earlier restart yet the 41 got his spot back and you will see why the conspiracy theorists are out. 



Fuelstick
March 02, 2018 at 03:02:08 PM
Joined: 09/24/2011
Posts: 195
Reply
Reply to:
Posted By: Stroker_Race on March 02 2018 at 09:42:13 AM

Not exactly how it went down.  First, Ian Madsen ran out of fuel during a green flag run and stopped in turn 3 and 4 thus bringing out the caution.  During the caution, while cars were still idling around, the 5 car of Gravel ran out on the backstretch.  The yellow stayed out for at least another lap until the red was thrown.  This was lap 61 and still 9 laps short of the announced number of 70.  Now what Mr. Gibson and the WoO officials ever failed to mention was that Madsen was out of fuel.  Johny simply said "the crew for the 18 team has finished repairs and he will rejoin the field from the rear."  Yea, they had repairs done, they dumped some fuel in and and BAM, it was fixed.  In the meantime, Gravel gets his spot back, even though he stopped and was out of fuel BEFORE the red was ever displayed but Madsen had to go to the rear.  Add the fact that the 41 of JJ spun after contact with the 1S of Logan on an earlier restart yet the 41 got his spot back and you will see why the conspiracy theorists are out. 



Also, did you notice how long it took the officials to reset the field when the 9 car went to the work area, when it was past the halfway mark & there's no 2 minutes given. Seem to take a damn long time! LMAO



blazer00
March 03, 2018 at 03:34:19 PM
Joined: 06/10/2015
Posts: 1967
Reply
Reply to:
Posted By: Stroker_Race on March 02 2018 at 09:42:13 AM

Not exactly how it went down.  First, Ian Madsen ran out of fuel during a green flag run and stopped in turn 3 and 4 thus bringing out the caution.  During the caution, while cars were still idling around, the 5 car of Gravel ran out on the backstretch.  The yellow stayed out for at least another lap until the red was thrown.  This was lap 61 and still 9 laps short of the announced number of 70.  Now what Mr. Gibson and the WoO officials ever failed to mention was that Madsen was out of fuel.  Johny simply said "the crew for the 18 team has finished repairs and he will rejoin the field from the rear."  Yea, they had repairs done, they dumped some fuel in and and BAM, it was fixed.  In the meantime, Gravel gets his spot back, even though he stopped and was out of fuel BEFORE the red was ever displayed but Madsen had to go to the rear.  Add the fact that the 41 of JJ spun after contact with the 1S of Logan on an earlier restart yet the 41 got his spot back and you will see why the conspiracy theorists are out. 



ANYBODY and EVERYBODY who came to a stop on the yellow, before the red was displayed should have joined Madsen at the end of the lead lap, same as Madsen had to. No ifs, ands or buts about it. Favortism.....YES IT WAS!



First | Previous | Next | Last Reply 1 to 9 of 9


Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login




 

If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at HoseHeadForums.com
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2018 HoseHeadForums.com Privacy Policy