Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email | FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results | RacersAuction.com | HoseheadsClassifieds.com
Hoosier Tire Great Plains | Hoosier Mid Atlantic | Racing Warehouse | Precise Racing | Performance Race Parts | Xtreme Race Parts

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login


Submit Results
7/16/10 Sharon Speedway Friday Night Thunder results
Results Submitted by SharonSpeedwayPR on 07/17/2010 at 4:10 PM Send To Friend | Report Results

Teeters gets Mod Lite win, Josh Walker wins fifth straight Sportsman feature, Craig Daniels gets first Micro Sprint win, Clay victorious in 2 bbl E-Mod and Scharba is fifth winner in Hobby Stocks

HARTFORD, Ohio (July 16, 2010) – The return of Friday Night Thunder at Sharon Speedway saw Jeff Teeters move up from 10th to get a Mod Lite win, Josh Walker earn his fifth straight Sportsman win, Craig Daniels got his first Micro Sprint win after years of racing, Dwayne Clay earn a in 2 bbl E-Mod victory and Michael Scharba become the fifth different winner in five Hobby Stocks features.

17 cars battled 15 laps in the Mod Lite feature. Shane Pfeuffer jumped out to the early lead, but Mark Marcucci, starting in eighth, was able to move up to second and knock on Pfeuffer's door. Jeff Teeters, starting tenth, moved up to third and started gaining momentum on the race leaders. Lynn Knepper and Alan Knepper put several laps down running door-to-door on the 3/8-mile dirt oval at Sharon Speedway. Mod Lite points leader Rick Ament started 15th but ran steady in sixth, looking for a chance to break into the top dive.

Teeters took the lead coming out of turn four on the 10th lap, sending Pfeuffer to second. Teeters stayed out front to get his first win at Sharon Speedway. Pfeuffer finished the race in second, followed by Mark Marcucci in third, Lynn Knepper in fourth and points leader Ament in fifth.

Mod Lite heat winners were Mark Marcucci and Jeff Teeters.

The Hobby Stock feature saw Scott Gilliland (Warren, Ohio) take the lead, with Michael Scharba on his bumper. Division points leader Stephen Walker (Greenville, Pa.) ran in third for most the race, followed by Duane Westfall (Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio) and Dan McEwen (Greenville, Pa.) battling for fourth place. With two to go, Scharba was peeking to the inside as the pair caught up with lap traffic in Bucky Buchanan and Ken Koby.

On the last lap, Scharba tried to make a move to the inside across the line, but Gilliland, in a white Neon sponsored by Lawn Wizard, held on to capture the checkered flag – becoming the fifth different feature winner in as many Friday Night Thunder events. The A-Main event ran caution-free.

Scharba was the Hobby Stock heat winner.

In the Micro Sprint A-Main, Ryan Fredericks (Hillsville, Pa.) quickly took the lead, but the father-son team of Craig Daniels and Dalton Daniels, sponsored by West Penn Collision and Todd Daniels Construction, was right behind. Dalton Daniels had competition for his third place position from Michael Borawiec Jr.

Craig Daniels stayed close on Fredericks several laps around the track, making a move to take first place on lap 8 and holding on to get his first Micro Sprint win ever. Fredericks recorded a second-place finish, followed by Dalton Daniels in third, Borowiec finished fourth and Sterling Theiss, new to Sharon Speedway, rounded out the top five.

Craig Daniels was also the Micro Sprint heat winner.

In the Sportsman class, Joe Grzelak (Hubbared, Ohio) took the lead in the 888 car, but got a little too wide coming out of turn two on the fourth lap falling to third, giving the position to Todd Lawrence. Todd Walker was all over Lawrence for the position, as Steve Mix moved into fourth, taking third on the ninth lap. With five to go, Todd Lawrence and Todd Walker were still wheel-to-wheel, behind them, Steve Mix and Josh Walker were battling for third.

A caution came out on the 11th lap, setting a single-file restart with fourth to go. Todd Walker tried to make a move, around Lawrence, but Josh Walker, starting in 13th, also had plans to take first. As the white flag came out, the Walker team flanked Lawrence and were side-by-side coming out of turn four. Across the line, it was Josh Walker that got the win, his fifth consecutive Sportsman feature win.

He was followed by Todd Walker in second, Todd Lawrence in third, Steve Mix in fourth and Matt Berger rounded out the top five.

Sportsman heat winners were Josh Walker, first in Sportsman points, and Todd Walker, second in points..

Dwayne Clay set sail in the 2 bbl E-Mod feature, with Mark Williams looking to chase him down. In third, Steve Burns was holding off Rick Robinson. Clay stayed out front, pacing the field, with Williams running in second and holding off Robinson. Bradley Blackshear came across the line fourth, followed by Steve Burns.

Clay, the 2 bbl E-Mod points leader, was also the 2 bbl E-Mod heat winner.

Sharon Speedway will host Friday Night Thunder again July 30 and and August 13.

July 16 Friday Night Thunder results:

Hobby Stocks: 1. Scott Gilliland 2. Michael Scharba 3. Stephen Walker 4. Duane Westfall 5. Dan McEwen 6. Ken Koby 7. Don Buchanan

Micro Sprints: 1. Craig Daniels 2. Ryan Fredericks 3. Dalton Daniels 4. Michael Borawiec 5. Sterling Theiss DNF: Brett Brunkenhoffer

Sportsman: 1. Josh Walker 2. Todd Walker 3. Todd Lawrence 4. Steve Mix 5. Matt Berger 6. Jason Darocha 7. Darrel Lewis 8. Tiffany Williams 9. Joe Grzelak 10. Kevin Sevacko 11. Diana Meikle DNF: Cody Dye, Matt Prtichard DQ: Kyle Lawrence DNS: Anthony Gillespie, Keith Schauer

Mod Lites: 1. Jeff Teeters 2. Shane Pfeuffer 3. Mark Marcucci 4. Lynn Knepper 5. Rick Ament 6. Ken Meadows 7. Alan Knepper 8. George Englert 9. David Innes 10. Ken Hall 11. Andrew Feil 12. Jim Gump Jr. 13. Darin Gallagher 14. Rick Lawson 15. Kotie Kirkbride DNS: Tom Kline, Angie Grzelak

2 bbl E-Mods: 1. Dwayne Clay 2. Mark Williams 3. Rick Robinson 4. Bradley Blackshear 5. Steve Burns 6. Todd Canter DNF: Edwin Crouch, Corey Skully DNS: Craig Scherrbaum

UPCOMING EVENTS: 6 PAK Saturday July 17 and 24. Northwest Pa. Truck & Tractor Pullers July 25. World of Outlaws Late Models and Fastrak Late Models on July 28. Fastrak Late Models, again, July 31. ASCS 360 Sprints, September 4. Bill Kirila Memorial, September 6.

Sharon Speedway is a 3/8-mile dirt oval located in Hartford, Ohio. Sharon Speedway is one of the oldest, continuously running weekly racetracks in the United States. Visit sharonspeedway.com for a complete schedule, directions to the track and the latest news. Buckle up and hang on as Sharon Speedway brings you dirt track racing at its finest!
Replies not allowed on this Results.


If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at HoseHeadForums.com
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2018 HoseHeadForums.com Privacy Policy