Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email | FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results | HoseheadsClassifieds.com

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login

Press Release

Submit a New Press Release
Huge Weekend In Store for IRA Bumper to Bumper Outlaw Sprints...
Press Release Submitted by StanM on 09/05/2012 at 8:21 AM Send To Friend | Report Press Release

Huge Weekend In Store for IRA Bumper to Bumper Outlaw Sprints – 
Northern Nationals / Jerry Reichert Memorial Race on Tap for Final Double Header Weekend of 2012!

By Jeffrey Sachse

September 4, 2012; McHenry, IL – Wisconsin's Northwoods will echo with the thunder of the 900 horsepower Winged Outlaw Sprints of the IRA Bumper to Bumper Sprint Cars series as the tour presents its final doubleheader weekend of 2012.

Since the 2001 season the 410 sprints have participated in the post Labor Day specials held at Amsoil (Superior) Speedway and Rice Lake Speedway with some of the biggest names in open-wheeled racing making their appearances at the events.

Action will get underway on Friday evening as the IRA Bumper to Bumper Outlaw Sprints are the featured division for the opening of the 24th Annual Northern Nationals held at Amsoil Speedway.   The event has seen some huge names take top honors on the 3/8 mile clay oval located in Superior, Wisconsin.    Current World of Outlaws point leader, Craig Dollansky, captured the checkered flag in 2000 and World of Outlaws stars Kerry Madsen, Danny Smith and Terry McCarl have all captured wins at this prestigious event. 

Not to be outdone IRA champions Bill Balog, Travis Whitney, Scott Neitzel, and Joe Roe have graced victory lane along with standout Australian open wheeled pilot, Brooke Tatnell.   The winner's list is a who's who of sprint car racing.   Part of the excitement is knowing that both of this weekend's high profile events can attract some of the biggest names to challenge the best of the IRA series stars for supremacy.

Friday night will consist of the IRA 410 Outlaw Sprints, WISSOTA Modifieds, Super Stocks and Midwest Modifieds.  Racing will get underway on Friday September 7th with hot laps at 6pm and racing at 6:30 pm.  

For more information visit www.amsoilspeedway.com

The tour then packs up and heads south to Cedar Lake Speedway located in New Richmond, Wisconsin.  The high banked, 3/8 mile oval hosts some of the biggest short track events in Wisconsin and among them is the 12th Annual Jerry Reichert Memorial race.

The IRA/Knoxville 410 Sprint Car challenge will present one of the best payouts on the 2012 IRA schedule thanks to the Reichert family and their effort in this special program.  

Over the years drivers like 2012 Knoxville Speedway 410 champion, Terry McCarl, and Knoxville standouts, Justin Henderson and Scott Winters, have captured victories.  Not to be outdone IRA star, "Mr. Excitement" Mike Reinke, has been a double winner taking victories in 2006 and 2007.  Fresh off a win at the Triple Crown event at Cedar Lake back in June, Reinke is poised to become the first three time winner of the event.    Looking to beat Reinke to the checkered flag in effort to pick up their third victory and place their name atop the win list would be Brooke Tatnell and Terry McCarl.   Other wins have gone to former IRA champion, Kim Mock and Don Droud Jr.

Bill Balog, the four-time and defending IRA champ, is the most recent winner of the race having won the 2011 version of the Reichert Memorial. Balog is currently looking to establish a new single season win record for the Bumper to Bumper IRA Sprints which he could accomplish with a pair of victories this weekend.

Among those representing the IRA sprints this weekend will be two-time series champion, Travis Whitney, along with series stars Reinke, Balog and Neitzel.  Young guns, Phillip Mock and Russel Borland, are also looking to add their names to the winners list along with the series top rookie, Robbie Pribnow, who narrowly missed his first feature win of 2012 with a second place run at the Sheboygan County Fairpark this past weekend.

Joining the 410 sprints for the show will be the UMSS Sprint Cars and Vintage Cars.  Gates open at 5:00 and racing begins at 6:00.  Tickets are $25 for adults and $12 for students 6-16.  5 and under are free.

For more information you can consult www.cedarlakespeedway.com

For more information on the IRA Outlaw Sprints check out the tour website at www.irasprints.com The Bumper to Bumper IRA Outlaw Sprints can also be found on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/irasprints and the series is also on Twitter at http://twitter.com/ira_sprints

The IRA Outlaw Sprint Series is proudly supported by Bumper to Bumper Auto Parts & Service Centers, Osborn & Son Trucking, Goodyear, TW Metals, Cummins Onan, DNA Energy Drink& Snacks, MPT Industries, UltraLube, Big Game Treestands, Carriage Auto Body, Otis Gun, Mother's Polishes and Waxes, and Polaris DEFENSE. The office of the IRA Sprints can be reached at 815-759-9269 or by e-mail at [email protected]

Bumper to Bumper IRA Outlaw Sprints:

Current Point Standings: Top 20: 1.) #17b Bill Balog, 3284 points; 2.) #02 Mike Reinke, 3135 pts; 3.) #2w Scott Neitzel, 2929pts; 4.) #1m Phillip Mock, 2676; 5.) #23 Russel Borland, 2529; 6.) #4k Kris Spitz, 2390; 7.) #53w Bill Wirth, 2364; 8.) #20r Robbie Pribnow, 2336; 9.) #80k Mike Kertscher, 2258; 10.) # 7 Scott Uttech, 2233; 11.) #83 Tommy Sexton, 2154; 12.) #95 Bill Warren, 2129; 13.) #94 Brandon Thone, 2090; 14.) #68 Dave Uttech, 2083; 15.) Dennis Spitz, 1925; 16.) #14aj Wayne Modjeski, 1701; 17.) #11 Darrell Dodd, 1574; 18.) Michael Decker, 1547; 19.) #19 Todd King, 1475; 20.) #71 Chad Tessman, 1093

Replies not allowed on this Press Release.


If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at HoseHeadForums.com
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2020 HoseHeadForums.com Privacy Policy