HoseHeads.com | HoseHeads Classifieds | Racer's Auction
Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email | FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results | RacersAuction.com | HoseheadsClassifieds.com
Hoosier Tire Great Plains | Hoosier Mid Atlantic | Racing Warehouse | Precise Racing | Performance Race Parts | Xtreme Race Parts

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login

 

Forum: HoseHeads Sprint Car General Forum (go)
Moderators: filtalr  /  hosehead


Records per page
 
Topic: Iracing Dirt Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
Page 3 of 3   of  55 replies
Schreurs12
April 13, 2017 at 10:07:11 AM
Joined: 04/11/2017
Posts: 10
Reply

There are also leagues you can get into that payout as well. Not sure how that all works, but a kid I know said he made $4,000 racing league last year.



SprintFan16
MyWebsite
April 13, 2017 at 10:07:51 AM
Joined: 05/03/2007
Posts: 954
Reply

The reason the real tracks are limited is that iRacing doesn't just model them, they actually laser scan the surface. A lot of timing and expense must go into that. I imagine there will be plenty of tracks down the road.



m_cox22
April 13, 2017 at 10:32:34 AM
Joined: 08/19/2011
Posts: 136
Reply
Reply to:
Posted By: SprintFan16 on April 13 2017 at 10:07:51 AM

The reason the real tracks are limited is that iRacing doesn't just model them, they actually laser scan the surface. A lot of timing and expense must go into that. I imagine there will be plenty of tracks down the road.



I'm thinking it won't be long until Knoxville is an option. Would love to see a little 1/4 mile bull ring as well!



Schreurs12
April 13, 2017 at 10:44:45 AM
Joined: 04/11/2017
Posts: 10
Reply

By the sound of it Knoxville will be released next. It would be cool to also have tracks like Tulare, Silver Dollar, I55, Husets, and all kinds of other different tracks around the country. But like Sprintfan16 said, there is a ton of expense Im sure that goes into it. Which I imagine is paying dividends given the amount of dirt guys like myself and others on here that have bought it.



rj34
April 14, 2017 at 12:44:30 PM
Joined: 12/19/2008
Posts: 21
Reply

Is oculus rift VR googles for it instead of triple monitors a better deal or not? How about realism/resolution?



Dollanskyfan1.1
April 16, 2017 at 10:03:53 AM
Joined: 04/22/2006
Posts: 128
Reply

You dont have tho have that awesome of a computer to race it. Why a gaming laptop anyways?? What a waste of money... I have a AMD Phenon x4 with 8 gigs of ram(an I3 would be the same), a Nvidia 710GT vid card with a 32" monitor(TV), a separate 19" monitpor for teamspeak, and a G29 wheel with shifter(my G27 whent to hell after 6 years-for other games like NR2003-which is where I Racing got its start) and I get almost 200 frames per second! You dont need to waste all this money on a Alienware or like computer... they are a rip off!

 

I decent desktop computer with a dedicated video card is all you need for computer to race with( and of course a steering wheel). my internet connection is 60Meg down/5Meg up. Never had a problem...


The Crowd Pleaser IS THE BEST ever!

StanM
MyWebsite MyResults MyPressRelease
April 16, 2017 at 11:20:21 AM
Joined: 11/07/2006
Posts: 3922
Reply
This message was edited on April 16, 2017 at 11:21:53 AM by StanM
Reply to:
Posted By: kossuth on April 11 2017 at 06:40:36 PM

I did the iracing thing for awhile, haven't done it for 2-3 years now.  In a fan of decent used tower PCs as long as it's a true ATX form factor. That way you can expand it with off the shelf parts.  Gotta be careful about some desktop units. They aren't ATX thus can't really do any upgrades. 



I run Linux on a freebee home refurbished Dell tower that I added memory and a couple large hard drives to.  It handles my photo editors, graphics software, and home studio music equipment just fine but it was an office model with on board graphics.  The graphics on this thing can only be upgraded with a Dell proprietory card that probably would still be challenged to handle iRacing after the upgrade.

The system requirements say that it runs on Linux-based systems but requires a game controller compatible with Windows.  I wouldn't even attempt doing this with my current system and don't have a couple grand to throw around this close to retirement.  It looks like a fun deal and I'd love to try it even though my hand eye coordination and reflexes are probably junk at 65. 

I'd do this if I had another 25 years of working ahead of me to pay off the charge card but that ain't going to happen.  This deal to me looks like it's only something that hard core gamers with the right systems could even hope to be competitive in.  Certainly not for the average racing fan.  These days most families use laptops and tablets and don't even own towers anymore.  I could justify going out and buying some kind of gaming console and steering wheel for a few hundred bucks but this kind of setup is only for the most hard core.  wink


Stan Meissner

DONT KNOW DONT CARE
April 16, 2017 at 01:11:38 PM
Joined: 04/21/2014
Posts: 121
Reply
Reply to:
Posted By: StanM on April 16 2017 at 11:20:21 AM

I run Linux on a freebee home refurbished Dell tower that I added memory and a couple large hard drives to.  It handles my photo editors, graphics software, and home studio music equipment just fine but it was an office model with on board graphics.  The graphics on this thing can only be upgraded with a Dell proprietory card that probably would still be challenged to handle iRacing after the upgrade.

The system requirements say that it runs on Linux-based systems but requires a game controller compatible with Windows.  I wouldn't even attempt doing this with my current system and don't have a couple grand to throw around this close to retirement.  It looks like a fun deal and I'd love to try it even though my hand eye coordination and reflexes are probably junk at 65. 

I'd do this if I had another 25 years of working ahead of me to pay off the charge card but that ain't going to happen.  This deal to me looks like it's only something that hard core gamers with the right systems could even hope to be competitive in.  Certainly not for the average racing fan.  These days most families use laptops and tablets and don't even own towers anymore.  I could justify going out and buying some kind of gaming console and steering wheel for a few hundred bucks but this kind of setup is only for the most hard core.  wink



I have a total of $300 invested and it works just fine, Im sure it could be better if I bought a better pc but I'm not planning on making a career out of iracing. I posted a link for the wheel and pedals I bought for $250 another $50 to download the cars and tracks, and a completely stock HP laptop I bought 3 years ago from Best Buy, that was $300 at the time, it works great and I'm having a blast. 

Stan, I'm working on 50 and not getting any younger, I have always dreamed of racing anything but life always got in the way, this is as close as I'm ever gonna get to racing a Sprint car or any car for that matter. Do yourself a favor and give this a shot, Its worth every penny and then some. You do not need a super computer to run iracing, the one your using now will probably work fine.



dirtracer74
April 20, 2017 at 12:00:27 PM
Joined: 01/29/2007
Posts: 93
Reply

IRacing is at Knoxville Raceway today laser scanning the track. 
https://twitter.com/knoxvilleraces

 

They also announced USAC. 
http://www.iracing.com/iracing-partners-with-united-states-auto-club/



m_cox22
April 20, 2017 at 12:37:56 PM
Joined: 08/19/2011
Posts: 136
Reply
Reply to:
Posted By: dirtracer74 on April 20 2017 at 12:00:27 PM

IRacing is at Knoxville Raceway today laser scanning the track. 
https://twitter.com/knoxvilleraces

 

They also announced USAC. 
http://www.iracing.com/iracing-partners-with-united-states-auto-club/



Exciting! Can't wait to suck at driving another car type! haha

For those who cant devote alot of time to figuring out car setups, is there a way to get preloaded setups for different track conditions? I'm racing about 2 hours every night trying to get better. While the driving is improving, I will always be limited unless I figure out how to set the cars up.

If getting preloaded setups isn't an option. What are some general things to change for different track conditions? things like tire compounds, gearing, wing position, etc.... I admit, i'm clueless...



GTigers55
April 20, 2017 at 01:17:35 PM
Joined: 02/13/2017
Posts: 237
Reply

Also they mentioned Kokomo and Belleville will be coming with the USAC cars.



heinen81
April 21, 2017 at 03:22:04 PM
Joined: 07/02/2013
Posts: 45
Reply
Reply to:
Posted By: rj34 on April 14 2017 at 12:44:30 PM

Is oculus rift VR googles for it instead of triple monitors a better deal or not? How about realism/resolution?



the VR is the only way to go, imo. The realism is ridiculous, you actually find yourself reaching for the wing slider and tear offs. Its pretty freaky until you get used to it. I bought this package just for this game. it runs the VR flawless, the graphics maxed out, and getting a steady 90-100 fps on practice/qualifying and 80+ durring race with zero lag or shudder. great price, and its down $50 from 2 weeks ago.

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/oculus-rift-virtual-reality-headset-cyberpowerpc-gamer-ultra-vr-gua2400bst-desktop-package/9999279100050000.p?skuId=9999279100050000

 



kossuth
April 21, 2017 at 08:29:32 PM
Joined: 11/02/2013
Posts: 387
Reply
Reply to:
Posted By: miledirtfan on April 13 2017 at 06:13:01 AM

For you techie guys, how do these specs look like for a system?  It's a good deal on a refurbished

 

Specifications:
Processor: Intel Pentium N3700 1.6GHz (Burst up to 2.4GHz)
2MB Cache
Processor Core: Quad-Core
Memory: 4GB DDR3L-1600
Max Memory: 8GB
Memory Slots: 2
Graphics: Intel HD Graphics
Hard Drive: 500GB SATA (7200rpm)
Optical Drive: SuperMulti DVD±RW
Sound: HD Audio
Network: 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet
Wireless: 802.11b/g/n
Front Panel:
Memory Card Reader: (SD, SDHC, SDXC, MS, MS Pro)
(2) USB 2.0
(1) Headphone/Microphone Combo
Rear Panel:
(1) DVI
(1) HDMI
(2) USB 2.0
(2) USB 3.0
(1) RJ-45 LAN
(1) Audio: Line-in
(1) Audio: Line-out
(1) Microphone
Expansion Slots & Bays:
(1) M.2 (occupied)
(1) Slimline 5.25" Drive Bay (occupied)
(1) 3.5" Drive Bay (occupied)
Operating System:
Genuine Windows 10 Home (64-bit)


Not nearly enough ass to run the game anywhere near median settings. 



kossuth
April 21, 2017 at 08:38:00 PM
Joined: 11/02/2013
Posts: 387
Reply

What I wish iracing would do is hit some of the hot spot areas in the country.  It would be awesome if we could get Lincoln, and port into iracing along with Attica and Atomic for Ohio. 

California get Chico, Placerville, Tulare, and Stockton. 

Plenty of cool one offs, but it would be awesome if they fleshed out these hotbeds



birdcage
April 22, 2017 at 11:31:09 PM
Joined: 02/09/2005
Posts: 24
Reply

The amount of cars and tracks available on iracing is amazing. Of course you have to purchase each car and each track except for the ones that are free when you sign up to get started. They add a few tracks and cars every year. It will take a while to get a large number of tracks as they physically scan each track for realism. The dirt tracks they have to scan twice. once before a race and again after a race so they can make the tracks dry out as a race goes on. I do belive they are going to fast  track the dirt stuff for a while to get the content built up. Official iracing races are divided into four twelve week seasons per year that you can run for points. They need to get the track count up so that they are not racing at the same track three times per season.

 



m_cox22
April 24, 2017 at 09:47:30 AM
Joined: 08/19/2011
Posts: 136
Reply

Non Wingers getting implamented now! Looking forward to trying them out tonight!





Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login





If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at HoseHeadForums.com
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2017 HoseHeadForums.com Privacy Policy