California Lightning Sprints
Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email | FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results |

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login


Forum: California Lightning Sprints (go)
Moderators: CLS Dan  /  ljennings  /  smokinokie

Records per page
Topic: CALIFORNIA LIGHTNING SPRINTS HEAD TO VENTURA ON SATURDAY! Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
Page 1 of 1   of  0 replies
March 30, 2016 at 04:58:15 PM
Joined: 11/14/2006
Posts: 2904


22126 South Vermont, Unit A

Torrance, CA 90502

(310) 320-5569

FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT: Bobby Michnowicz (310) 320-5569

For Immediate Release 


(Torrance, CA, March 30, 2016) This Saturday night, April 2nd, the California Lightning Sprint Car Series will contest round #3 of its 2016 championship series at Jim Naylor’s Ventura Raceway.  Joining the CLS at the beach side oval will be the VRA Sprint Cars, Dwarf Cars and Hobby Stocks.  Spectator gates will open at 3:00 PM and racing will get underway at 5:30. 

Third year CLS competitor James Heling of San Bernardino has parlayed a pair of third place finishes in the first two races of 2016 into the point lead heading into the race at the track that has affectionately been called “The Commotion by the Ocean” for nearly four decades.  Three-time series champ Bobby Michnowicz of Lomita, who swept the show at Bakersfield two weeks ago, is six points behind Heling.  Upland’s Alex Grigoreas, who won the season opener at El Centro on March 5th, is third in the championship standings and trails the leader by 17-points.  Corona’s Darren Hillberg and Pat Kelley of Chino, the 2015 “Rookie of the Year,” round out the top five and are breathing down Grigoreas’ neck. 

Saturday’s Ventura race will be the first of eight in 2016 at the track the CLS now calls home.  The second race at the track on the Ventura County Fairgrounds will be on May 14th.  Between this Saturday and that date the CLS will race two times.  The first will be at the Santa Maria Raceway on April 16th and the second date will at the Bakersfield Speedway on April 30th.  

California Lightning Sprint Car Series Points

1. James Heling – San Bernardino – 255

2. Bobby Michnowicz – Lomita – 249

3. Alex Grigoreas – 238

4. Darren Hillberg – Corona – 228

5. Pat Kelley – Chino - 227

6. Dale Gamer - Anaheim – 197

7. Jon Robertson – Torrance - 195

8. James Squire III – Lakeside – 179

9. Jeff Dyer – Victorville – 155

10. Zach Zauss – Murrieta - 136 

The California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2016 season possible: Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, DK Fabrication, Extreme Muffler, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Lucas Oil, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Rosson Racing, Saldana Race Products, Sander Engineering, Speedmart, Speed Partz, Surf N’ Sprint, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless, Woodland Auto Display 

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for the 2016 season, please call Bobby Michnowicz at: (310) 320-5569. 

To keep up with the CLS on line, please visit the web site at: 

2016 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule

March 5: Imperial Valley Raceway - El Centro, CA – Alex Grigoreas 
March 19: Bakersfield Speedway - Bakersfield, CA – Bobby Michnowicz
April 2: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
April 16: Santa Maria Raceway - Santa Maria, CA 
April 30: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA 
May 14: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
May 28: Perris Auto Speedway - Perris, CA (Salute To Indy)
June 11: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA (BoD & General Membership Meeting)
July 2: Perris Auto Speedway - Perris, CA (Firecracker)
July 9: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA
August 3: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA (Ventura County Fair)
August 20: Santa Maria Raceway - Santa Maria, CA 
September 3: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA (BoD & General Membership Meeting)
September 17: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA 
October 1: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
October 15: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
October 29: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
November 13: **General Membership Meeting / 2017 Rules Meeting
November 19: **Imperial Valley Raceway - El Centro, CA 
**=Proposed Date.
This schedule is subject to change. 
Civil War Dates TBD


1994 Tony Everhart

1995 Gary Sexton

1996 Rob Sczymczak

1997 Jon Rahe

1998 Chris Rahe

1999 Brent Sexton

2000 Greg Bragg

2001 Greg Bragg

2002 Greg Bragg

2003 David Cardey

2004 Keith Janca

2005 Johnny Bates

2006 Donny Gansen

2007 Shane Rossen

2008 Brent Sexton

2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr.

2010 Jarrett Kramer

2011 Tim Brown

2012 Bobby Michnowicz

2013 Stephen Limon

2014 Bobby Michnowicz

2015 Bobby Michnowicz

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768

Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login

If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2018 Privacy Policy