California Lightning Sprints
Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email | FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results |

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login


Forum: California Lightning Sprints (go)
Moderators: CLS Dan  /  ljennings  /  smokinokie

Records per page
Topic: CALIFORNIA LIGHTNING SPRINTS LAST PERRIS APPEARANCE SATURDAY! Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
Page 1 of 1   of  0 replies
September 15, 2015 at 04:43:50 PM
Joined: 11/14/2006
Posts: 2904


22126 South Vermont, Unit A

Torrance, CA 90502

(310) 320-5569

FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT: Bobby Michnowicz (310) 320-5569

For Immediate Release 


(Torrance, CA, September 15, 2015)  The California Lightning Sprint Car Series will head to Perris Auto Speedway one last time, this Saturday night September 19th, for the Glenn Howard Memorial.  Joining the CLS on the famous half-mile for the annual race will be the USAC/CRA Sprint Cars, PAS Senior Sprints and the Young Gun Sprint Cars.  Spectator gates will open at 5:00 PM and the first race will begin at 7:00. 

Lomita’s Bobby Michnowicz, who is seeking a record tying third California Lightning Sprint Car Series title, has dominated the action in 2015 winning seven of the first 11 main events.  Included in his victories is two of the three races at The PAS.  The other winner at The PAS this year was 2010 CLS Jarrett Kramer of Sprint Valley.  Kramer took home the CLS/PAS trophy on July 4th and nearly made it two in row on August 15th, but while leading on the last lap, he bobbled and slid up the race track coming off of turn two and Michnowicz raced by him for the win. 

Michnowicz carries a massive 237-point lead over Fort Irwin’s Jeff Dyer in the championship standings with only four races to go.  Upland’s Alex Grigoreas, who has been plagued by mechanical ills the last two races, slipped back to third, but is only seven points behind Dyer heading into Saturday’s showdown at The PAS.  Veteran racers Dan Hillberg of Placentia and Anaheim’s Dale Gamer hold down the fourth and fifth spots. 

Going into Saturday’s race Chino’s Pat Kelley will bring a slim 6-point advantage over “Rockstar” Jon Robertson of Torrance in the fight for the “Rookie of the Year” award. 

After Saturday’s race, the CLS will only havethree more dates in 2015.  September 26th at the Bakersfield Speedway, October 17th at the Ventura Raceway and November 21st at the Imperial Valley Raceway on the fairgrounds in El Centro. 

2015 CLS Pont Standings

1. Bobby Michnowicz - Lomita - 2267

2. Jeff Dyer - Fort Irwin - 2030

3. Alex Grigoreas - Upland - 2023

4. Dan Hillberg - Placentia - 1877

5. Dale Gamer - Anaheim - 1733

6. James Heling - San Bernardino - 1683

7. Pat Kelley - Chino - 1658

8. Jon Robertson - Torrance - 1652

9. Don Kuener - Perris - 1265

10. Cori Andrews - Murrieta - 1186 

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for the 2015 season, please call Bobby Michnowicz at: (310) 320-5569. 

To keep up with the CLS on line, please visit the web site at: 

2015 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule

March 7: Imperial Valley Raceway (El Centro) 1/4 Mile - Bobby Michnowicz
March 21: Bakersfield Speedway 1/3 Mile - Bobby Michnowicz (Civil War CLS vs BCRA)
April 11: Ventura Raceway 1/5 Mile - Doug Nunes
April 25: Bakersfield Speedway 1/3 Mile - Doug Nunes
May 9: Santa Maria Raceway 1/4 Mile - Alex Grigoreas
May 23: Perris Auto Speedway 1/2 Mile (Salute To Indy) - Bobby Michnowicz
June 6: Ventura Raceway 1/5 Mile - Bobby Michnowicz
June 20: Bakersfield Speedway 1/3 Mile - Bobby Michnowicz
July 4: Perris Auto Speedway 1/2 Mile (Firecracker) - Jarrett Kramer
July 18: Ventura Raceway 1/5 Mile - Rained Out

August 1: Merced (Civil War CLS vs BCRA) - Canceled
August 15: Perris Auto Speedway 1/2 Mile - Bobby Michnowicz
August 29: Santa Maria Raceway 1/4 Mile - Bobby Michnowicz
September 19: Perris Auto Speedway 1/2 Mile
September 26: Bakersfield Speedway 1/3 Mile (Civil War CLS vs BCRA)
October 17: Ventura Raceway 1/5 Mile 
November 21: Imperial Valley Raceway (El Centro) 1/4 Mile - TBD


1994 Tony Everhart

1995 Gary Sexton

1996 Rob Sczymczak

1997 Jon Rahe

1998 Chris Rahe

1999 Brent Sexton

2000 Greg Bragg

2001 Greg Bragg

2002 Greg Bragg

2003 David Cardey

2004 Keith Janca

2005 Johnny Bates

2006 Donny Gansen

2007 Shane Rossen

2008 Brent Sexton

2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr.

2010 Jarrett Kramer

2011 Tim Brown

2012 Bobby Michnowicz

2013 Stephen Limon

2014 Bobby Michnowicz

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768



Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login

If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2018 Privacy Policy