California Lightning Sprints
Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email | FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results |

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login


Forum: California Lightning Sprints (go)
Moderators: CLS Dan  /  ljennings  /  smokinokie

Records per page
Topic: CALIFORNIA LIGHTNING SPRINT CARS AT VENTURA SATURDAY! Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
Page 1 of 1   of  0 replies
October 12, 2016 at 05:39:10 PM
Joined: 11/14/2006
Posts: 2904


22126 South Vermont, Unit A

Torrance, CA 90502

(310) 320-5569

FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT: Bobby Michnowicz (310) 320-5569

For Immediate Release


(Torrance, CA, October 12, 2016)   The California Lightning Sprint Car Series will stage its next to last race of what has been a highly successful 2016 season this Saturday night, October 15th, at Jim Naylor’s Ventura Raceway.  The IMCA Modifieds, Hobby Stocks and Focus Midgets will also be on the card.  Spectator gates will open at 3:00 PM and racing get underway at 5:30.    

With only two races remaining, the 2016 championship is still up for grabs.  Lomita’s Bobby Michnowicz, who has won three CLS titles including the last two in a row, leads the way coming into Saturday’s race.  However, he does not have a lot of breathing room.  San Bernardino’s James Heling, who is having his best season to date, is second and is only 29-points behind Michnowicz.  Chino’s Pat Kelley, who won his first ever CLS main event at Ventura in May, is third and trails the leader by 85-points.  Rookie point leader Cody Nigh of Camarillo is fourth and is 102-markers out of the top spot.  Mathematically, they are the only drivers who could overtake Michnowicz on Saturday. 

The last time the CLS was at Ventura on October 1st, local Bruce Douglass notched his first ever CLS win in front of Northern California’s Craig Dillard and 2010 CLS champion Jarrett Kramer of Spring Valley. In posting the win, Douglass became the fifth different winner in the first six races at Ventura in 2016.  The only driver with more than win on the ocean side oval this year is Michnowicz, who posted back to back victories on August 3rd and September 3rd.

After Saturday’s race, the CLS will get one week off before bringing the curtain down on the 2016 season at Ventura on October 29th.

California Lightning Sprint Car Series Points

1. Bobby Michnowicz - Lomita - 1522

2. James Heling – San Bernardino - 1491

3. Pat Kelley – Chino - 1437

4. Cody Nigh – Camarillo - 1420

5. Dale Gamer – Anaheim - 1309

6. Aiden Lange - Lakewood – 1301

6. Alex Grigoreas - Upland - 1276

8. Jon Robertson – Torrance – 1266

9. Wyatt Downing - Lakewood - 1164

10. Dan Hillberg - Placentia – 1118

The California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2016 season possible: Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, DK Fabrication, Extreme Muffler, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Lucas Oil, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Rosson Racing, Saldana Race Products, Sander Engineering, Speedmart, Speed Partz, Surf N’ Sprint, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless, Woodland Auto Display.

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for the 2016 season, please call Bobby Michnowicz at: (310) 320-5569.

To keep up with the CLS on line, please visit the web site at:

2016 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule

March 5: Imperial Valley Raceway - El Centro, CA – Alex Grigoreas
March 19: Bakersfield Speedway - Bakersfield, CA – Bobby Michnowicz
April 2: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Alex Grigoreas
April 16: Santa Maria Raceway - Santa Maria, CA – Alex Grigoreas
April 30: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA – Charlie Caraccilo
May 14: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Pat Kelley
May 28: Perris Auto Speedway - Perris, CA (Salute To Indy) – Doug Nunes
June 11: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA – Charlie Caraccilo
July 2: Perris Auto Speedway - Perris, CA (Firecracker) – Bobby Michnowicz
July 9: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Jeff Dyer
August 3: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Bobby Michnowicz
August 20: Santa Maria Raceway - Santa Maria, CA – Charlie Carracilo
September 3: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Bobby Michnowicz

September 17: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA – Bobby Michnowicz
October 1: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Bruce Douglass
October 15: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
October 29: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
November 13: **General Membership Meeting / 2017 Rules Meeting

**=Proposed Date.
This schedule is subject to change. 


1994 Tony Everhart

1995 Gary Sexton

1996 Rob Sczymczak

1997 Jon Rahe

1998 Chris Rahe

1999 Brent Sexton

2000 Greg Bragg

2001 Greg Bragg

2002 Greg Bragg

2003 David Cardey

2004 Keith Janca

2005 Johnny Bates

2006 Donny Gansen

2007 Shane Rossen

2008 Brent Sexton

2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr.

2010 Jarrett Kramer

2011 Tim Brown

2012 Bobby Michnowicz

2013 Stephen Limon

2014 Bobby Michnowicz

2015 Bobby Michnowicz

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768

Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login

If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2018 Privacy Policy