California Lightning Sprints
Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email | FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results |

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login


Forum: California Lightning Sprints (go)
Moderators: CLS Dan  /  ljennings  /  smokinokie

Records per page
Topic: CALIFORNIA LIGHTNING SPRINTS BEGIN LAST MONTH OF 2016 SEASON AT VENTURA! Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
Page 1 of 1   of  0 replies
September 28, 2016 at 01:11:16 PM
Joined: 11/14/2006
Posts: 2914


22126 South Vermont, Unit A

Torrance, CA 90502

(310) 320-5569

FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT: Bobby Michnowicz (310) 320-5569

For Immediate Release


(Torrance, CA, September 28, 2016) The California Lightning Sprint Car Series will begin the final month of the 2016 campaign this Saturday night, October 1st, at the Ventura Raceway.  The VRA Sprint Cars, Senior Sprints, Dwarfs and IMCA Modifieds will join the CLS at the show.  Spectator gates will open at 3:00 with the first race at 5:30.

Three-time CLS champ Bobby Michnowicz heads into Saturday’s show at the picturesque ocean side oval on top of the points heap.  The 52-year-old Lomita based racing veteran took the lead from San Bernardino’s James Heling at the last race at the Bakersfield Speedway on September 17th.  Michnowicz is 15-points ahead of Heling in the championship chase.  Pat Kelley of Chino, who has been plagued with engine problems the last few races, is third and trails the leader by 57-markers.  Impressive rookie Cody Nigh of Camarillo is fourth and is 98-points off of the top spot.  Upland’s Alex Grigoreas, who is out for the year, is fifth.

Saturday’s event will be the sixth of eight for the CLS at Ventura in 2016.  The first five races have produced four different winners.  Michnowicz, with two victories, is the only repeat winner and he has won the last two in a row.  Grigoreas, Kelley and Victorville’s Jeff Dyer have also won at Ventura in 2016.

In the “Rookie of the Year” battle, Nigh continued to hold down the top spot over Lakewood teenagers Aiden Lange and Wyatt Downing.  Lange trails Nigh by 69-points.  Downing is 222-points behind the leader.

After Saturday, the last two races of the season will also take place at the Ventura Raceway on October 15th and 29th. 

California Lightning Sprint Car Series Points

1. Bobby Michnowicz - Lomita - 1403

2. James Heling – San Bernardino - 1388

3. Pat Kelley – Chino - 1346

4. Cody Nigh – Camarillo - 1305

5. Alex Grigoreas - Upland - 1276

6. Aiden Lange - Lakewood – 1236

6. Dale Gamer – Anaheim - 1236

8. Jon Robertson – Torrance – 1199

9. Wyatt Downing - Lakewood - 1083

10. Jeff Dyer – Victorville – 1070

The California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2016 season possible: Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, DK Fabrication, Extreme Muffler, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Lucas Oil, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Rosson Racing, Saldana Race Products, Sander Engineering, Speedmart, Speed Partz, Surf N’ Sprint, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless, Woodland Auto Display.

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for the 2016 season, please call Bobby Michnowicz at: (310) 320-5569.

To keep up with the CLS on line, please visit the web site at:

2016 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule

March 5: Imperial Valley Raceway - El Centro, CA – Alex Grigoreas
March 19: Bakersfield Speedway - Bakersfield, CA – Bobby Michnowicz
April 2: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Alex Grigoreas
April 16: Santa Maria Raceway - Santa Maria, CA – Alex Grigoreas
April 30: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA – Charlie Caraccilo
May 14: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Pat Kelley
May 28: Perris Auto Speedway - Perris, CA (Salute To Indy) – Doug Nunes
June 11: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA – Charlie Caraccilo
July 2: Perris Auto Speedway - Perris, CA (Firecracker) – Bobby Michnowicz
July 9: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Jeff Dyer
August 3: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Bobby Michnowicz
August 20: Santa Maria Raceway - Santa Maria, CA – Charlie Carracilo
September 3: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Bobby Michnowicz

September 17: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA – Bobby Michnowicz
October 1: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
October 15: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
October 29: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
November 13: **General Membership Meeting / 2017 Rules Meeting
November 19: **Imperial Valley Raceway - El Centro, CA 
**=Proposed Date.
This schedule is subject to change. 


1994 Tony Everhart

1995 Gary Sexton

1996 Rob Sczymczak

1997 Jon Rahe

1998 Chris Rahe

1999 Brent Sexton

2000 Greg Bragg

2001 Greg Bragg

2002 Greg Bragg

2003 David Cardey

2004 Keith Janca

2005 Johnny Bates

2006 Donny Gansen

2007 Shane Rossen

2008 Brent Sexton

2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr.

2010 Jarrett Kramer

2011 Tim Brown

2012 Bobby Michnowicz

2013 Stephen Limon

2014 Bobby Michnowicz

2015 Bobby Michnowicz

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768

Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login

If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2019 Privacy Policy