California Lightning Sprints
Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email | FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results |

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login


Forum: California Lightning Sprints (go)
Moderators: CLS Dan  /  ljennings  /  smokinokie

Records per page
Topic: CALIFORNIA LIGHTNING SPRINT CARS AT VENTURA COUNTY FAIR Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
Page 1 of 1   of  0 replies
July 27, 2016 at 05:14:15 PM
Joined: 11/14/2006
Posts: 2914


22126 South Vermont, Unit A

Torrance, CA 90502

(310) 320-5569

FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT: Bobby Michnowicz (310) 320-5569

For Immediate Release 


(Torrance, CA, July 27, 2016) The California Lightning Sprint Car Series swings back into action with a very special race the Ventura Raceway on Wednesday night, August 3rd.  The race will be part of opening night of the 141st Ventura County Fair.  Joining the CLS on the card will be the IMCA Modifieds, VRA Dwarf Cars, Focus Midgets and a Demolition Derby.  The first race will start at 6:00 PM. 

The first 10 races of the 2016 CLS campaign have produced six different winners.  Alex Grigoreas of Upland sits on top of the victory list with three main event wins.  Those three wins all came within the first four races of the season.  Despite leading the series in wins, Grigoreas has not posted a victory since he bested the field at Santa Maria on April 16th.  Three-time series champion Bobby Michnowicz of Lomita and Madera’s Charlie Caracillo are the only other drivers this year with multiple victories with two each.  Chino’s Pat Kelley, Doug Nunes of Kingsburg and Victorville’s Jeff Dyer have one win apiece. 

Saturday will be the fourth of seven races at the ocean side 1/5 of a mile dirt oval for the CLS in 2016.  Grigoreas won the first one in March.  Kelley, who was the “Rookie of the Year” in the CLS series in 2015, won there in April.  Dyer, who will be racing his final event before leaving for the California Highway Patrol Academy on August 22nd, won the last race there on July 9th

As has been the case most of the season, Upland’s Alex Grigoreas goes into the Ventura race with the points lead.  At the series last race three weeks ago, his point lead had shrunk to a mere 19 points over Kelley.  However, he parlayed a third place finish with a Kelley 17th place finish due to a crash into a 76-point advantage going into Wednesday’s race.   San Bernardino’s James Heling is third with Dyer fourth and Michnowicz fifth. 

Ventura local Cody Nigh of Camarillo goes into the Ventura race with the lead in the “Rookie of the Year” standings.  Lakewood teens Wyatt Downing and Aiden Lange are second and third.  

After Wednesday’s fair date at Ventura, the CLS will be back on the track at the Santa Maria Raceway on August 20th.  

California Lightning Sprint Car Series Points

1. Alex Grigoreas – Upland 1126

2. Pat Kelly – Chino - 1050

3. James Heling – San Bernardino - 1027

4. Jeff Dyer - Victorville - 912

5. Bobby Michnowicz - Lomita - 891

6. Jon Robertson – Torrance – 879

7. Dale Gamer - Anaheim - 866

8. Cody Nigh – Camarillo – 837

9. Darren Hillberg - Corona - 823

10. Wyatt Downing - Lakewood – 804 

The California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2016 season possible: Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, DK Fabrication, Extreme Muffler, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Lucas Oil, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Rosson Racing, Saldana Race Products, Sander Engineering, Speedmart, Speed Partz, Surf N’ Sprint, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless, Woodland Auto Display. 

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for the 2016 season, please call Bobby Michnowicz at: (310) 320-5569. 

To keep up with the CLS on line, please visit the web site at: 

2016 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule

March 5: Imperial Valley Raceway - El Centro, CA – Alex Grigoreas 
March 19: Bakersfield Speedway - Bakersfield, CA – Bobby Michnowicz
April 2: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Alex Grigoreas
April 16: Santa Maria Raceway - Santa Maria, CA – Alex Grigoreas
April 30: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA – Charlie Caraccilo
May 14: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Pat Kelley
May 28: Perris Auto Speedway - Perris, CA (Salute To Indy) – Doug Nunes
June 11: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA – Charlie Caraccilo
July 2: Perris Auto Speedway - Perris, CA (Firecracker) – Bobby Michnowicz
July 9: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Jeff Dyer 
August 3: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA (Ventura County Fair)
August 20: Santa Maria Raceway - Santa Maria, CA 
September 3: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA (BoD & General Membership Meeting)
September 17: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA 
October 1: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
October 15: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
October 29: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
November 13: **General Membership Meeting / 2017 Rules Meeting
November 19: **Imperial Valley Raceway - El Centro, CA 
**=Proposed Date.
This schedule is subject to change. 
Civil War Dates TBD


1994 Tony Everhart

1995 Gary Sexton

1996 Rob Sczymczak

1997 Jon Rahe

1998 Chris Rahe

1999 Brent Sexton

2000 Greg Bragg

2001 Greg Bragg

2002 Greg Bragg

2003 David Cardey

2004 Keith Janca

2005 Johnny Bates

2006 Donny Gansen

2007 Shane Rossen

2008 Brent Sexton

2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr.

2010 Jarrett Kramer

2011 Tim Brown

2012 Bobby Michnowicz

2013 Stephen Limon

2014 Bobby Michnowicz

2015 Bobby Michnowicz

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768


Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login

If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2019 Privacy Policy