California Lightning Sprints
Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email | FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results |

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login


Forum: California Lightning Sprints (go)
Moderators: CLS Dan  /  ljennings  /  smokinokie

Records per page
Topic: 2003 CHAMP CARDEY COMING OUT OF RETIREMENT TO RACE WITH CLS AT VENTURA Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
Page 1 of 1   of  0 replies
July 06, 2016 at 12:59:56 PM
Joined: 11/14/2006
Posts: 2904


22126 South Vermont, Unit A

Torrance, CA 90502

(310) 320-5569

FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT: Bobby Michnowicz (310) 320-5569

For Immediate Release 


(Torrance, CA, July 6, 2016) David Cardey, the 2003 California Lightning Sprint Car Series champion, is coming out of retirement to race with the CLS this Saturday night, July 9th, at Jim Naylor’s Ventura Raceway.  Joining the CLS at the picturesque beach side oval located on the Ventura County Fairgrounds will be the VRA Sprint Cars, IMCA Modifieds, Dwarf Cars and the Focus Midgets.  Spectator gates will open at 3:00 PM with the first race at 5:30. 

Cardey, who resides in Riverside with wife Danita and go-kart racing son Drake, began racing with the CLS Series after his mom gave him a car for a Christmas present in the early 2000’s.  The slender driver quickly parlayed that gift into a dominating championship in 2003 and followed that with a successful career racing 410 sprint cars. 

Cardey’s climb through the ranks in 410 racing started when he drove in the USAC/CRA for Jim Giardina in 2004.  He subsequently drove a family owned car, the ITI Performance house car for Glenn Crossno and wrapped up his career three years ago driving the famous Moose Racing #92. 

Fearing no situation and putting his car where others would never dare, the 40-year-old driver, who now works in the racing industry for Eibach Springs, is one of the all-time favorites of the USAC/CRA Series in which he won a total of nine main events.  Four of those wins came in 2010.  Among those victories was the prestigious “Salute to Indy” and the “Firecracker 30” at Perris Auto Speedway.  However, his best season may have come in 2009 when he scored two wins and finished second in the USAC/CRA championship standings behind Mike Spencer. 

Among his wins was the dramatic USAC National Sprint Car Series triumph at the Oval Nationals preliminary main event on Halloween Night 2008.  In what many call the greatest race in the history of Perris Auto Speedway, Cardey led the race two separate times and prevailed over superstars Damion Gardner, Jerry Coons Jr., Jesse “The Rocket” Hockett and 5-time USAC National Champion Levi Jones.    

This Saturday at Ventura, Cardey will be driving the #29 Hench powered Honda owned by Murrieta racer Zach Zauss.  Among his chief competitors on Saturday will be points leader and three time 2016 winner Alex Grigoreas of Upland, three-time series champion Bobby Michnowicz of Lomita, Pat Kelley of Chino and Jeff Dyer of Victorville. 

Saturday’s race will be third of eight for the CLS at Ventura in 2016.  Grigoreas won the first one on April 16th and Kelley won the last one on May 14th.  

Grigoreas saw his point lead shrink to a mere 19-points when he dropped out of last week’s main at Perris with mechanical ills.  Kelley, the 2015 CLS “Rookie of the Year,” is hot on his heals heading into Saturday’s battle at Ventura.  San Bernardino’s James Heling is third with Anaheim’s Dale Gamer and “Rockstar” Jon Robertson rounding out the top five.  

Ventura local Cody Nigh of Camarillo scored a career best CLS second place finish last Saturday at Perris and took over the lead in the “Rookie of the Year” point standings.  Wyatt Downing of Lakewood is 3-points behind Nigh with Aiden Lange, who also resides in Lakewood, third.  

California Lightning Sprint Car Series Points

1. Alex Grigoreas – Upland 1001

2. Pat Kelly – Chino - 982

3. James Heling – San Bernardino - 922

4. Dale Gamer - Anaheim - 811

5. Jon Robertson - Torrance - 801

6. Jeff Dyer - Victorville – 779

7. Darren Hillberg - Corona - 764

8. Bobby Michnowicz - Lomita – 762

9. Cody Nigh – Camarillo - 750

10. Wyatt Downing - Lakewood - 747 

The California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2016 season possible: Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, DK Fabrication, Extreme Muffler, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Lucas Oil, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Rosson Racing, Saldana Race Products, Sander Engineering, Speedmart, Speed Partz, Surf N’ Sprint, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless, Woodland Auto Display. 

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for the 2016 season, please call Bobby Michnowicz at: (310) 320-5569. 

To keep up with the CLS on line, please visit the web site at: 

2016 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule

March 5: Imperial Valley Raceway - El Centro, CA – Alex Grigoreas 
March 19: Bakersfield Speedway - Bakersfield, CA – Bobby Michnowicz
April 2: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Alex Grigoreas
April 16: Santa Maria Raceway - Santa Maria, CA – Alex Grigoreas
April 30: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA – Charlie Caraccilo
May 14: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Pat Kelley
May 28: Perris Auto Speedway - Perris, CA (Salute To Indy) – Doug Nunes
June 11: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA – Charlie Caraccilo
July 2: Perris Auto Speedway - Perris, CA (Firecracker) – Bobby Michnowicz
July 9: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA
August 3: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA (Ventura County Fair)
August 20: Santa Maria Raceway - Santa Maria, CA 
September 3: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA (BoD & General Membership Meeting)
September 17: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA 
October 1: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
October 15: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
October 29: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
November 13: **General Membership Meeting / 2017 Rules Meeting
November 19: **Imperial Valley Raceway - El Centro, CA 
**=Proposed Date.
This schedule is subject to change. 
Civil War Dates TBD


1994 Tony Everhart

1995 Gary Sexton

1996 Rob Sczymczak

1997 Jon Rahe

1998 Chris Rahe

1999 Brent Sexton

2000 Greg Bragg

2001 Greg Bragg

2002 Greg Bragg

2003 David Cardey

2004 Keith Janca

2005 Johnny Bates

2006 Donny Gansen

2007 Shane Rossen

2008 Brent Sexton

2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr.

2010 Jarrett Kramer

2011 Tim Brown

2012 Bobby Michnowicz

2013 Stephen Limon

2014 Bobby Michnowicz

2015 Bobby Michnowicz

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768

Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login

If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2018 Privacy Policy