California Lightning Sprints
Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email | FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results |

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login


Forum: California Lightning Sprints (go)
Moderators: CLS Dan  /  ljennings  /  smokinokie

Records per page
Topic: CALIFORNIA LIGHTNING SPRINTS AT PERRIS AUTO SPEEDWAY SALUTE TO INDY! Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
Page 1 of 1   of  0 replies
May 25, 2016 at 01:38:09 PM
Joined: 11/14/2006
Posts: 2930


22126 South Vermont, Unit A

Torrance, CA 90502

(310) 320-5569

FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT: Bobby Michnowicz (310) 320-5569

For Immediate Release 


(Torrance, CA, May 25, 2016) The California Lightning Sprint Car Series will return to its former home track, Perris Auto Speedway, this Saturday night, May 28th for the “Salute to Indy.”  Joining the CLS will be the USAC/CRA Sprint Car Series and The PAS Young Gun & Senior Sprints.  Spectator gates will open at 5:00 PM and the first race will see the green flag at 7:00. 

The biggest track the CLS competes on, Saturday’s race will be one of only two for it at the longtime Riverside County clay oval during the 2016 season.  Over the past three years the series has contested 20 races at The PAS.  Three-time series champion Bobby Michnowicz of Lomita has won nine of the 20.  Placentia’s Dan Hillberg and Michnowicz’ son Kevin have three wins in the same amount of time.  The only other driver with more than one win since 2013 is Spring Valley’s Jarrett Kramer and he has two.  Jeff Dyer of Victorville, Doug Nunes of Kingsburg and Cori Andrews of Murrieta each have one win at The PAS going back to 2013. 

Heading into Saturday’s show, Darren Hillberg is the new CLS point leader having taken the top spot from three-time 2016 winner Alex Grigoreas of Upland.  Chino’s Pat Kelley, who won his first ever CLS main event at the Ventura Raceway two weeks ago, is third in points.  James Heling of San Bernardino and Victorville’s Jeff Dyer are fourth and fifth. 

In addition to Grigoreas and Kelly, Bobby Michnowicz and Charlie Cariccilo of Madera have CLS wins in 2016. 

After Saturday’s “Salute to Indy” the CLS takes one week off before heading to the Bakersfield Speedway for the third of four races on the Kern County oval in 2016.  It will return to Perris Auto Speedway for the final time this year on July 2nd

California Lightning Sprint Car Series Points

1. Darren Hillberg – Corona - 692

2. Alex Grigoreas – Upland - 687

3. Pat Kelly – Chino - 652

4. James Heling – San Bernardino - 627

5. Jeff Dyer – Victorville - 574

6. Dale Gamer – Anaheim – 562

7. Jon Robertson - Torrance - 540

8. Wyatt Downing - Lakewood – 488

9. Bobby Michnowicz – Lomita – 478

10. Bruce Douglass – Ventura - 471 

The California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2016 season possible: Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, DK Fabrication, Extreme Muffler, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Lucas Oil, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Rosson Racing, Saldana Race Products, Sander Engineering, Speedmart, Speed Partz, Surf N’ Sprint, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless, Woodland Auto Display.  

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for the 2016 season, please call Bobby Michnowicz at: (310) 320-5569. 

To keep up with the CLS on line, please visit the web site at: 

2016 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule

March 5: Imperial Valley Raceway - El Centro, CA – Alex Grigoreas 
March 19: Bakersfield Speedway - Bakersfield, CA – Bobby Michnowicz
April 2: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Alex Grigoreas
April 16: Santa Maria Raceway - Santa Maria, CA – Alex Grigoreas
April 30: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA – Charlie Cariccilo
May 14: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Pat Kelley
May 28: Perris Auto Speedway - Perris, CA (Salute To Indy)
June 11: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA (BoD & General Membership Meeting)
July 2: Perris Auto Speedway - Perris, CA (Firecracker)
July 9: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA
August 3: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA (Ventura County Fair)
August 20: Santa Maria Raceway - Santa Maria, CA 
September 3: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA (BoD & General Membership Meeting)
September 17: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA 
October 1: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
October 15: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
October 29: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
November 13: **General Membership Meeting / 2017 Rules Meeting
November 19: **Imperial Valley Raceway - El Centro, CA 
**=Proposed Date.
This schedule is subject to change. 
Civil War Dates TBD


1994 Tony Everhart

1995 Gary Sexton

1996 Rob Sczymczak

1997 Jon Rahe

1998 Chris Rahe

1999 Brent Sexton

2000 Greg Bragg

2001 Greg Bragg

2002 Greg Bragg

2003 David Cardey

2004 Keith Janca

2005 Johnny Bates

2006 Donny Gansen

2007 Shane Rossen

2008 Brent Sexton

2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr.

2010 Jarrett Kramer

2011 Tim Brown

2012 Bobby Michnowicz

2013 Stephen Limon

2014 Bobby Michnowicz

2015 Bobby Michnowicz

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768

Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login

If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2019 Privacy Policy