California Lightning Sprints
Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email | FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results |

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login


Forum: California Lightning Sprints (go)
Moderators: CLS Dan  /  ljennings  /  smokinokie

Records per page
Topic: CALIFORNIA LIGHTNING SPRINT CARS RETURN TO BAKERSFIELD SATURDAY! Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
Page 1 of 1   of  0 replies
April 25, 2016 at 02:11:27 PM
Joined: 11/14/2006
Posts: 2904


22126 South Vermont, Unit A

Torrance, CA 90502

(310) 320-5569

FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT: Bobby Michnowicz (310) 320-5569

For Immediate Release 


(Torrance, CA, April 25, 2016) The California Lightning Sprint Car Series will cross by the quarter-mark of the 2016 season when it visits “The West’s Fastest 1/3 Of A Mile High Banked Oval,” the Bakersfield Speedway, this Saturday night, April 30th.  It will be the second of four appearances at the track for the CLS this year.  Also on the card will be the USAC Western States Midgets, Hobby Stocks, American Stocks, USAC Micros and Mini Stocks.  Spectator gates will open at 4:00 PM and racing will start at 6:00. 

Through the first four races of the CLS season the story has been nearly all Alex Grigoreas.  The longtime racer from Upland has won three of the first four main events.  The only time he did not win came at Bakersfield when three-time series champion Bobby Michnowicz of Lomita was the first driver to the checkered flag on March 19th.  Grigoreas was running second late in that race when he tried to challenge Michnowicz for the lead and slapped the front stretch wall breaking something in the rear end.  He ended up 12th.     

Heading into this Saturday’s race Grigoreas has a 59-point lead over Corona’s Darren Hillberg in the championship standings.  2015 Rookie of the Year Pat Kelley of Chino is third in title chase and only trails Hillberg by two points.  San Bernardino’s James Heling, who lead the standings heading into the last race at Santa Maria, finds himself in fourth with former Speedway Motorcycle racer Dale Gamer of Anaheim fifth. 

The fight for the 2016 “Rookie of the Year” title has reached a fever pitch heading into Saturday’s race.  Lakewood’s Wyatt Downing currently leads the freshman class with 298-points.  Only 1-point behind is San Diego State student Cody Nigh of Camarillo.  Third in the rookie chase is Aiden Lange and he is only 15-points behind Downing. 

California Lightning Sprint Car Series Points

1. Alex Grigoreas – -Upland - 517

2. Darren Hillberg – Corona - 458

3. Pat Kelley – Chino - 456

4. James Heling – San Bernardino - 448

5. Dale Gamer - Anaheim - 378

6. Jon Robertson – Torrance – 372

7. Zach Zauss – Murrieta - 346

8. Jeff Dyer – Victorville – 320

9. Wyatt Downing - Lakewood – 298

10. Bobby Michnowicz - 297 

The California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2016 season possible: Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, DK Fabrication, Extreme Muffler, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Lucas Oil, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Rosson Racing, Saldana Race Products, Sander Engineering, Speedmart, Speed Partz, Surf N’ Sprint, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless, Woodland Auto Display. 

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for the 2016 season, please call Bobby Michnowicz at: (310) 320-5569. 

To keep up with the CLS on line, please visit the web site at: 

2016 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule

March 5: Imperial Valley Raceway - El Centro, CA – Alex Grigoreas 
March 19: Bakersfield Speedway - Bakersfield, CA – Bobby Michnowicz
April 2: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Alex Grigoreas
April 16: Santa Maria Raceway - Santa Maria, CA – Alex Grigoreas
April 30: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA 
May 14: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
May 28: Perris Auto Speedway - Perris, CA (Salute To Indy)
June 11: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA (BoD & General Membership Meeting)
July 2: Perris Auto Speedway - Perris, CA (Firecracker)
July 9: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA
August 3: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA (Ventura County Fair)
August 20: Santa Maria Raceway - Santa Maria, CA 
September 3: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA (BoD & General Membership Meeting)
September 17: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA 
October 1: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
October 15: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
October 29: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
November 13: **General Membership Meeting / 2017 Rules Meeting
November 19: **Imperial Valley Raceway - El Centro, CA 
**=Proposed Date.
This schedule is subject to change. 
Civil War Dates TBD


1994 Tony Everhart

1995 Gary Sexton

1996 Rob Sczymczak

1997 Jon Rahe

1998 Chris Rahe

1999 Brent Sexton

2000 Greg Bragg

2001 Greg Bragg

2002 Greg Bragg

2003 David Cardey

2004 Keith Janca

2005 Johnny Bates

2006 Donny Gansen

2007 Shane Rossen

2008 Brent Sexton

2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr.

2010 Jarrett Kramer

2011 Tim Brown

2012 Bobby Michnowicz

2013 Stephen Limon

2014 Bobby Michnowicz

2015 Bobby Michnowicz

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768

Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login

If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2018 Privacy Policy