California Lightning Sprints
Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email | FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results |

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login


Forum: California Lightning Sprints (go)
Moderators: CLS Dan  /  ljennings  /  smokinokie

Records per page
Topic: CALIFORNIA LIGHTNING SPRINT CARS AT SANTA MARIA SATURDAY! Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
Page 1 of 1   of  0 replies
August 26, 2015 at 02:01:20 PM
Joined: 11/14/2006
Posts: 2850


22126 South Vermont, Unit A

Torrance, CA 90502

(310) 320-5569

FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT: Bobby Michnowicz (310) 320-5569

For Immediate Release 


(Torrance, CA, August 26, 2015)  The California Lightning Sprint Car Series makes the trek to the Santa Maria Speedway for the second and final time of 2015 this Saturday night, August 29th.  Joining the CLS on the program will be the Santa Maria 360 Sprint Cars, CDCRA Dwarf Cars, Hobby Stocks, NMRA ¾ Midgets, Mini Dwarfs and Jr. Midgets.  Spectator gates will open at 4:00 PM with racing at 6:00. 

Upland’s Alex Grigoreas, who currently sits second in the championship point standings, won the main event the first time the CLS visited Santa Maria on May 9th.  In posting the win, Grigoreas beat Kingsburg’s Doug Nines and current point leader Bobby Michnowicz of Lomita to the checkered flag. 

Since that May event, the CLS has competed five times and Michnowicz has won four of the five.  The only driver to beat the Lomita racer to the checkered flag in that time period was 2010 series champ Jarrett Kramer on July 4th at Perris Auto Speedway.  Two weeks ago at Perris, Kramer was leading on the last lap when he slipped off the groove coming off of turn two handing the lead to Michnowicz who went on to post his sixth win of the year.  Besides Michnowicz, Grigoreas and Kramer, the only other driver to win this season was Nunes who posted back to back wins at the Bakersfield Speedway and the Ventura Raceway in April. 

Michnowicz, the two-time and defending CLS champion, has a comfortable 173-point lead over Grigoreas in the championship standings.  The gap may not have been quite as large, but Grigoreas dropped out of the last race with engine problems.  In addition to losing ground to Michnowicz, Grigoreas had better not look over his shoulder as former teammate Jeff Dyer of Fort Irwin has closed to within 36-points of him in the battle for second.  Placentia’s Dan Hillberg is currently fourth with Anaheim’s Dale Gamer taking over fifth when James Heling of San Bernardino missed the last race. 

The battle for Rookie of the Year is heating up as “Rockstar Jon” Robertson of Torrance has closed to within 12-points of Chino’s Pat Kelley with only five races remaining. 

After Saturday’s race, the CLS will take a couple of weeks off before returning to action at the Glen Howard Memorial at Perris on September 19th

2015 CLS Pont Standings

1. Bobby Michnowicz - Lomita - 1939

2. Alex Grigoreas - Upland - 1766

3. Jeff Dyer - Ft. Irwin - 1730

4. Dan Hillberg - Placentia - 1567

5. Dale Gamer - Anaheim - 1482

6. James Heling - San Bernardino - 1425

7. Pat Kelley - Chino - 1393

8. Jon Robertson - Torrance - 1381

9. Cori Andrews - Murrieta - 1186

10. Don Kuener - Perris - 991 

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for the 2015 season, please call Bobby Michnowicz at: (310) 320-5569. 

To keep up with the CLS on line, please visit the web site at: 

2015 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule

March 7: Imperial Valley Raceway (El Centro) 1/4 Mile - Bobby Michnowicz
March 21: Bakersfield Speedway 1/3 Mile - Bobby Michnowicz (Civil War CLS vs BCRA)
April 11: Ventura Raceway 1/5 Mile - Doug Nunes
April 25: Bakersfield Speedway 1/3 Mile - Doug Nunes
May 9: Santa Maria Raceway 1/4 Mile - Alex Grigoreas
May 23: Perris Auto Speedway 1/2 Mile (Salute To Indy) - Bobby Michnowicz
June 6: Ventura Raceway 1/5 Mile - Bobby Michnowicz
June 20: Bakersfield Speedway 1/3 Mile - Bobby Michnowicz
July 4: Perris Auto Speedway 1/2 Mile (Firecracker) - Jarrett Kramer
July 18: Ventura Raceway 1/5 Mile - Rained Out

August 1: Merced (Civil War CLS vs BCRA) - Canceled
August 15: Perris Auto Speedway 1/2 Mile - Bobby Michnowicz
August 29: Santa Maria Raceway 1/4 Mile
September 19: Perris Auto Speedway 1/2 Mile
September 26: Bakersfield Speedway 1/3 Mile (Civil War CLS vs BCRA) 
October 17: Ventura Raceway 1/5 Mile 
November 21: Imperial Valley Raceway (El Centro) 1/4 Mile - TBD


1994 Tony Everhart

1995 Gary Sexton

1996 Rob Sczymczak

1997 Jon Rahe

1998 Chris Rahe

1999 Brent Sexton

2000 Greg Bragg

2001 Greg Bragg

2002 Greg Bragg

2003 David Cardey

2004 Keith Janca

2005 Johnny Bates

2006 Donny Gansen

2007 Shane Rossen

2008 Brent Sexton

2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr.

2010 Jarrett Kramer

2011 Tim Brown

2012 Bobby Michnowicz

2013 Stephen Limon

2014 Bobby Michnowicz

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768

Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login

If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2018 Privacy Policy