California Lightning Sprints
Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email | FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results | |
Hoosier Tire Great Plains | Hoosier Mid Atlantic | Racing Warehouse | Precise Racing | Performance Race Parts | Xtreme Race Parts

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login


Forum: California Lightning Sprints (go)
Moderators: CLS Dan  /  ljennings  /  smokinokie

Records per page
Topic: CALIFORNIA LIGHTNING SPRINTS CARS BACK IN ACTION SATURDAY AT PERRIS Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
Page 1 of 1   of  0 replies
August 10, 2015 at 04:48:42 PM
Joined: 11/14/2006
Posts: 2807


22126 South Vermont, Unit A

Torrance, CA 90502

(310) 320-5569

FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT: Bobby Michnowicz (310) 320-5569

For Immediate Release 


(Torrance, CA, August 11, 2015)  After a long, unplanned time off, the California Lightning Sprint Car Series returns to action this Saturday night, August 15th, at the “California Racer’s Hall of Fame Night” at Perris Auto Speedway.  Joining the CLS on the quadruple header program will be the USAC/CRA Sprint Cars and The PAS Senior & Young Gun Sprints.  Spectator gates will open at 5:00 PM with racing at 7:30.  

The CLS has not raced in six weeks since the July 4th race at The PAS, but that is not what the schedule originally planned.  The series was slated to race at the Ventura Raceway on July 18th, but that race was rained out.  Two weeks after that it was slated to join the BCRA at the Merced Speedway for round #2 of the “Civil War Challenge.”  However, when that race was moved to Sunday night, the CLS took a vote of its members and they opted not to make the trek with most of the competitors having to work on Monday.     

Saturday’s race on the famous Riverside County half-mile clay oval will launch the final six races on the 2015 schedule.  After Saturday the tour, which was founded in 1994, heads to the Santa Maria Raceway on August 19th, back to The PAS for one final time on September 19th, the Bakersfield Speedway on September 23rd, Ventura Raceway on October 18th and the finale in El Centro on November 21st.  

Heading into Saturday’s race at The PAS, two time series champ Bobby Michnowicz of Lomita, has a commanding 118-point lead over Upland’s Alex Grigoreas in the championship standings.  For Irwin’s Jeff Dyer is third with Dan Hillberg of Placentia and James Heling of San Bernardino rounding out the top five.  Thus far in 2015, Michnowicz and 2010 CLS champion Jarrett Kramer of Spring Valley have won the two races at The PAS. 

Chino’s Pat Kelley still leads the Rookie of the Year chase over Jon Robertson of Torrance.  Perris driver Don Kuener is third. 

2015 CLS Pont Standings

1. Bobby Michnowicz - Lomita - 1657

2. Alex Grigoreas - Upland - 1539

3. Jeff Dyer - Ft. Irwin - 1491

4. Dan Hillberg - Placentia - 1367

5. James Heling - San Bernardino - 1333

6. Dale Gamer - Anaheim - 1298

7. Pat Kelley - Chino - 1269

8. Jon Robertson - Torrance - 1219

9. Cori Andrews - Murrieta - 961

10. Don Kuener - Perris - 811 

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for the 2015 season, please call Bobby Michnowicz at: (310) 320-5569. 

To keep up with the CLS on line, please visit the web site at: 

2015 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule

March 7: Imperial Valley Raceway (El Centro) 1/4 Mile - Bobby Michnowicz
March 21: Bakersfield Speedway 1/3 Mile - Bobby Michnowicz (Civil War CLS vs BCRA)
April 11: Ventura Raceway 1/5 Mile - Doug Nunes
April 25: Bakersfield Speedway 1/3 Mile - Doug Nunes
May 9: Santa Maria Raceway 1/4 Mile - Alex Grigoreas
May 23: Perris Auto Speedway 1/2 Mile (Salute To Indy) - Bobby Michnowicz
June 6: Ventura Raceway 1/5 Mile - Bobby Michnowicz
June 20: Bakersfield Speedway 1/3 Mile - Bobby Michnowicz
July 4: Perris Auto Speedway 1/2 Mile (Firecracker) - Jarrett Kramer
July 18: Ventura Raceway 1/5 Mile - Rained Out

August 1: Merced (Civil War CLS vs BCRA) - Canceled
August 15: Perris Auto Speedway 1/2 Mile
August 29: Santa Maria Raceway 1/4 Mile
September 19: Perris Auto Speedway 1/2 Mile
September 26: Bakersfield Speedway 1/3 Mile (Civil War CLS vs BCRA) 
October 17: Ventura Raceway 1/5 Mile 
November 21: Imperial Valley Raceway (El Centro) 1/4 Mile - TBD


1994 Tony Everhart

1995 Gary Sexton

1996 Rob Sczymczak

1997 Jon Rahe

1998 Chris Rahe

1999 Brent Sexton

2000 Greg Bragg

2001 Greg Bragg

2002 Greg Bragg

2003 David Cardey

2004 Keith Janca

2005 Johnny Bates

2006 Donny Gansen

2007 Shane Rossen

2008 Brent Sexton

2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr.

2010 Jarrett Kramer

2011 Tim Brown

2012 Bobby Michnowicz

2013 Stephen Limon

2014 Bobby Michnowicz

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768

Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login

If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2018 Privacy Policy