California Lightning Sprints
Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email | FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results |

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login


Forum: California Lightning Sprints (go)
Moderators: CLS Dan  /  ljennings  /  smokinokie

Records per page
Topic: CALIFORNIA LIGHTNING SPRINTS CLOSE 2016 SEASON SATURDAY AT VENTURA! Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
Page 1 of 1   of  0 replies
October 24, 2016 at 04:46:46 PM
Joined: 11/14/2006
Posts: 2904


22126 South Vermont, Unit A

Torrance, CA 90502

(310) 320-5569

FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT: Bobby Michnowicz (310) 320-5569

For Immediate Release


(Torrance, CA, October 24, 2016)    Nearly eight months after opening the 2016 campaign, the California Lightning Sprint Car Series will wrap up its 23rd season this Saturday night, October 29th, at Jim Naylor’s Ventura Raceway.  The USAC Western Midgets and VRA Dwarf Cars will also be in action at the longtime beach side oval.  Spectator gates will open at 3:00 PM with racing at 5:30. 

Heading into Saturday’s race the season long points championship is still up for grabs.  However, soon to be 53-year-old Lomita racer Bobby Michnowicz already has one hand on the championship trophy.  The series leader in wins this season with six, Michnowicz has a commanding 77-point lead over San Bernardino’s James Heling heading into the finale. 

If Michnowicz wins the title, it will be his fourth with the CLS and that will set the series record.  He is currently tied with Visalia’s Greg Bragg, who captured the crown in 2000, 2001 and 2002.  Michnowicz notched his three CLS titles in 2012, 2014 and 2015.

Betting on Michnowicz to surrender the title on the CLS home track on Saturday would be a foolhardy proposition for even the most daring better.  In the first seven races of the season at Ventura, he has three wins including the last race on October 15th.  No other CLS driver has more than one win on the famous track in 2016. 

Like Michnowicz in the overall championship, his nephew, Cody Nigh of Camarillo, has a good grip on the 2016 CLS “Rookie of the Year Award.”  The 22-year-old San Diego State student has a 91-point advantage over 14-year-old Aiden Lange of Lakewood going into the final race. 

The 2017 schedule will be announced soon after the conclusion of the exciting 2016 season.     

California Lightning Sprint Car Series Points

1. Bobby Michnowicz - Lomita - 1661

2. James Heling – San Bernardino - 1584

3. Cody Nigh – Camarillo – 1522 *

4. Pat Kelley – Chino - 1517

5. Aiden Lange - Lakewood – 1431 *

6. Dale Gamer – Anaheim - 1366

6. Jon Robertson – Torrance - 1356

8. Alex Grigoreas - Upland – 1276

9. Wyatt Downing - Lakewood – 1225 *

10. Dan Hillberg - Placentia – 1174

* Rookie

The California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2016 season possible: Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, DK Fabrication, Extreme Muffler, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Lucas Oil, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Rosson Racing, Saldana Race Products, Sander Engineering, Speedmart, Speed Partz, Surf N’ Sprint, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless, Woodland Auto Display.

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for the 2016 season, please call Bobby Michnowicz at: (310) 320-5569.

To keep up with the CLS on line, please visit the web site at:

2016 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule

March 5: Imperial Valley Raceway - El Centro, CA – Alex Grigoreas
March 19: Bakersfield Speedway - Bakersfield, CA – Bobby Michnowicz
April 2: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Alex Grigoreas
April 16: Santa Maria Raceway - Santa Maria, CA – Alex Grigoreas
April 30: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA – Charlie Caraccilo
May 14: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Pat Kelley
May 28: Perris Auto Speedway - Perris, CA (Salute To Indy) – Doug Nunes
June 11: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA – Charlie Caraccilo
July 2: Perris Auto Speedway - Perris, CA (Firecracker) – Bobby Michnowicz
July 9: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Jeff Dyer
August 3: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Bobby Michnowicz
August 20: Santa Maria Raceway - Santa Maria, CA – Charlie Carracilo
September 3: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Bobby Michnowicz

September 17: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA – Bobby Michnowicz
October 1: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Bruce Douglass
October 15: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Bobby Michnowicz
October 29: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
November 13: **General Membership Meeting / 2017 Rules Meeting

**=Proposed Date.
This schedule is subject to change. 


1994 Tony Everhart

1995 Gary Sexton

1996 Rob Sczymczak

1997 Jon Rahe

1998 Chris Rahe

1999 Brent Sexton

2000 Greg Bragg

2001 Greg Bragg

2002 Greg Bragg

2003 David Cardey

2004 Keith Janca

2005 Johnny Bates

2006 Donny Gansen

2007 Shane Rossen

2008 Brent Sexton

2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr.

2010 Jarrett Kramer

2011 Tim Brown

2012 Bobby Michnowicz

2013 Stephen Limon

2014 Bobby Michnowicz

2015 Bobby Michnowicz

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768

Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login

If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2018 Privacy Policy