California Lightning Sprints
Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email | FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results |

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login


Forum: California Lightning Sprints (go)
Moderators: CLS Dan  /  ljennings  /  smokinokie

Records per page
Topic: HELING LEADS LIGHTNING SPRINTS INTO FINAL 2016 BAKERSFIELD RACE! Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
Page 1 of 1   of  0 replies
September 13, 2016 at 04:48:53 PM
Joined: 11/14/2006
Posts: 2822


22126 South Vermont, Unit A

Torrance, CA 90502

(310) 320-5569

FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT: Bobby Michnowicz (310) 320-5569

For Immediate Release


(Torrance, CA, September 13, 2016) San Bernardino’s James Heling leads the California Lightning Sprint Car Series into its final 2016 appearance at the Bakersfield Speedway this Saturday night, September 17th.  The CLS will be joined by the Modifieds, Sportmods, IMCA Stock Cars and Mini Stocks at “The West’s Fastest 1/3 Mile Banked Clay Oval.”  Spectator gates will open at 5:00 PM with racing at 7:00.

Heling took over the point lead at the last race on Labor Day weekend at the Ventura Raceway.  The 28-year-old Beaumont High School alumnus carries a slender 12-point lead over 2015 “Rookie of the Year” Pat Kelley of Chino going into Saturday’s race.  Upland’s Alex Grigoreas, who is out for the year, sits in third.  Making the top two peer over their shoulders with a cautious eye is fourth place driver Bobby Michnowicz of Lomita.  The three-time champion is only 40-points behind Heling and he has won three out of the last five CLS races.

Camarillo’s Cody Nigh is fifth in the standings.  Despite missing a race earlier in the year, he is only 115-points behind Heling in the championship fracas and he leads the “Rookie of the Year” chase over talented Lakewood teenagers Aiden Lange and Wyatt Downing.

Saturday’s race at the longtime Kern County oval will be the fourth of the year for the CLS.  Michnowicz captured the first one March 19th.  The last two have been won by non-series regular Charlie Caraccilo of Madera on April 30th and June 11th. 

After Saturday’s “Battle in Bako,” only four races will remain in the 2016 season.  Three at the Ventura Raceway in October and the season closer in El Centro in November. 

California Lightning Sprint Car Series Points

1. James Heling – San Bernardino - 1295

2. Pat Kelley – Chino - 1283

3. Alex Grigoreas - Upland - 1276

4. Bobby Michnowicz - Lomita - 1255

5. Cody Nigh – Camarillo - 1180

6. Dale Gamer - Anaheim – 1151

7. Aiden Lange - Lakewood - 1125

8. Jon Robertson – Torrance – 1117

9. Jeff Dyer - Victorville - 1070

10. Wyatt Downing - Lakewood – 988

The California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2016 season possible: Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, DK Fabrication, Extreme Muffler, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Lucas Oil, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Rosson Racing, Saldana Race Products, Sander Engineering, Speedmart, Speed Partz, Surf N’ Sprint, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless, Woodland Auto Display.

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for the 2016 season, please call Bobby Michnowicz at: (310) 320-5569.

To keep up with the CLS on line, please visit the web site at:

2016 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule

March 5: Imperial Valley Raceway - El Centro, CA – Alex Grigoreas
March 19: Bakersfield Speedway - Bakersfield, CA – Bobby Michnowicz
April 2: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Alex Grigoreas
April 16: Santa Maria Raceway - Santa Maria, CA – Alex Grigoreas
April 30: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA – Charlie Caraccilo
May 14: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Pat Kelley
May 28: Perris Auto Speedway - Perris, CA (Salute To Indy) – Doug Nunes
June 11: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA – Charlie Caraccilo
July 2: Perris Auto Speedway - Perris, CA (Firecracker) – Bobby Michnowicz
July 9: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Jeff Dyer
August 3: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Bobby Michnowicz
August 20: Santa Maria Raceway - Santa Maria, CA – Charlie Carracilo
September 3: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Bobby Michnowicz

September 17: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA 
October 1: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
October 15: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
October 29: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
November 13: **General Membership Meeting / 2017 Rules Meeting
November 19: **Imperial Valley Raceway - El Centro, CA 
**=Proposed Date.
This schedule is subject to change. 


1994 Tony Everhart

1995 Gary Sexton

1996 Rob Sczymczak

1997 Jon Rahe

1998 Chris Rahe

1999 Brent Sexton

2000 Greg Bragg

2001 Greg Bragg

2002 Greg Bragg

2003 David Cardey

2004 Keith Janca

2005 Johnny Bates

2006 Donny Gansen

2007 Shane Rossen

2008 Brent Sexton

2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr.

2010 Jarrett Kramer

2011 Tim Brown

2012 Bobby Michnowicz

2013 Stephen Limon

2014 Bobby Michnowicz

2015 Bobby Michnowicz

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768

Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login

If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2018 Privacy Policy