California Lightning Sprints
Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email | FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results |

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login


Forum: California Lightning Sprints (go)
Moderators: CLS Dan  /  ljennings  /  smokinokie

Records per page
Topic: POINT SHAKEUP COMING AS CALIFORNIA LIGHTNING SPRINTS HIT VENTURA! Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
Page 1 of 1   of  0 replies
August 31, 2016 at 07:31:14 PM
Joined: 11/14/2006
Posts: 2915


22126 South Vermont, Unit A

Torrance, CA 90502

(310) 320-5569

FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT: Bobby Michnowicz (310) 320-5569

For Immediate Release


(Torrance, CA, August 31, 2016) There is going to be a big shakeup in the California Lightning Sprint Car Series championship standings as the series heads to Jim Naylor’s Ventura Raceway this Saturday night, September 3rd.  Upland’s Alex Grigoreas, who has three wins and who has led the standings for most of the year, had a heart attack last Monday and subsequent successful surgery to install a stint. 

The popular Grigoreas, who drives a truck when not steering a race car, was on the job in the High Desert when stricken and called 911.  Within three minutes he saw the ambulance on the way and within 13 minutes was in the ER at St. Mary’s Hospital in Apple Valley being prepped for surgery.  The surgery took 45-minutes and the driver feels as good as new, but the doctor put a halt to racing for the rest of the year.

With Grigoreas sitting out, the main contenders to inherit the top spot are James Heling of San Bernardino, Pat Kelley of Chino and three-time series champion Bobby Michnowicz of Lomita, who are ranked second through fourth in the standings.  Heling is 38-points in front of Kelley and 111 ahead of Michnowicz.  After Saturday’s race at Ventura, there will only be five dates left in the season to decide the title.

Saturday’s race will be the fifth of eight for the CLS at Ventura in 2016.  The first four races have produced four different winners.  Grigoreas won the first one on April 2nd with Kelley winning on May 14th.  Victorville’s Jeff Dyer, who will miss Saturday’s race while attending the California Highway Patrol Academy in Sacramento, won on July 9th and Michnowicz won on August 3rd. 

In addition to the CLS, the VRA Sprint Cars, Seniors Sprints, Dwarf Cars and IMCA Modifieds will also be in action on Saturday.  Spectator gates will open 3:00 with racing at 5:30.

In addition to this Saturday’s race at Ventura, the CLS will have one more race in the month.  It will be at the Bakersfield Speedway on the 17th.   It will be the series fourth and final appearance of the year at the Kern County oval. 

California Lightning Sprint Car Series Points

1. Alex Grigoreas – Upland 1276

2. James Heling – San Bernardino - 1211

3. Pat Kelley – Chino - 1173

4. Bobby Michnowicz - Lomita - 1107

5. Cody Nigh – Camarillo - 1072

6. Dale Gamer - Anaheim – 1058

7. Jon Robertson – Torrance - 1046

8. Aiden Lange - Lakewood – 1007

9. Jeff Dyer - Victorville - 994

10. Wyatt Downing - Lakewood – 948

The California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2016 season possible: Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, DK Fabrication, Extreme Muffler, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Lucas Oil, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Rosson Racing, Saldana Race Products, Sander Engineering, Speedmart, Speed Partz, Surf N’ Sprint, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless, Woodland Auto Display.

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for the 2016 season, please call Bobby Michnowicz at: (310) 320-5569.

To keep up with the CLS on line, please visit the web site at:

2016 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule

March 5: Imperial Valley Raceway - El Centro, CA – Alex Grigoreas
March 19: Bakersfield Speedway - Bakersfield, CA – Bobby Michnowicz
April 2: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Alex Grigoreas
April 16: Santa Maria Raceway - Santa Maria, CA – Alex Grigoreas
April 30: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA – Charlie Caraccilo
May 14: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Pat Kelley
May 28: Perris Auto Speedway - Perris, CA (Salute To Indy) – Doug Nunes
June 11: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA – Charlie Caraccilo
July 2: Perris Auto Speedway - Perris, CA (Firecracker) – Bobby Michnowicz
July 9: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Jeff Dyer
August 3: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA (Ventura County Fair) – Bobby Michnowicz
August 20: Santa Maria Raceway - Santa Maria, CA – Charlie Carracilo
September 3: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA (BoD & General Membership Meeting)
September 17: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA 
October 1: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
October 15: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
October 29: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
November 13: **General Membership Meeting / 2017 Rules Meeting
November 19: **Imperial Valley Raceway - El Centro, CA 
**=Proposed Date.
This schedule is subject to change. 
Civil War Dates TBD


1994 Tony Everhart

1995 Gary Sexton

1996 Rob Sczymczak

1997 Jon Rahe

1998 Chris Rahe

1999 Brent Sexton

2000 Greg Bragg

2001 Greg Bragg

2002 Greg Bragg

2003 David Cardey

2004 Keith Janca

2005 Johnny Bates

2006 Donny Gansen

2007 Shane Rossen

2008 Brent Sexton

2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr.

2010 Jarrett Kramer

2011 Tim Brown

2012 Bobby Michnowicz

2013 Stephen Limon

2014 Bobby Michnowicz

2015 Bobby Michnowicz

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768

Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login

If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2019 Privacy Policy