California Lightning Sprints
Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email | FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results |

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login


Forum: California Lightning Sprints (go)
Moderators: CLS Dan  /  ljennings  /  smokinokie

Records per page
Topic: GRIGOREAS BACK ON TOP OF POINTS AS LIGHTNING SPRINTS HEAD TO BAKERSFIELD! Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
Page 1 of 1   of  0 replies
June 08, 2016 at 12:19:14 PM
Joined: 11/14/2006
Posts: 2930


22126 South Vermont, Unit A

Torrance, CA 90502

(310) 320-5569

FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT: Bobby Michnowicz (310) 320-5569

For Immediate Release 


(Torrance, CA, June 8, 2016) This Saturday night, June 11th, the California Lightning Sprint Car Series will return to “The West’s Fastest 1/3 of a Mile High Banked Clay Oval,” the Bakersfield Speedway, for the third of four appearances in 2016.  Joining the CLS on the program will be the Sportmods, Pro Stocks, Hobby Stocks, Mod Lites and the Race Saver Sprint Cars.  Spectator gates will open at 5:00 PM and the first race will be at 6:00. 

Upland’s Alex Grigoreas regained the lead in the CLS championship point standings two weeks ago at Perris Auto Speedway when Corona’s Darren Hillberg missed the race while on vacation.  Going into Saturday’s race on the longtime Kern County track, veteran Grigoreas has a 60-point lead over 2015 “Rookie of the Year” Pat Kelley of Chino.  San Bernardino’s James Heling, who led the standings for two races earlier in the year, is third.  Hillberg and Victorville’s Jeff Dyer round out the top five.  

Three-time series champion Bobby Michnowicz of Lomita, who sat out the Perris race due to engine issues, but who will be back in action on Saturday, won the first race at Bakersfield on March 19th.  Madera’s Charlie Caraccilo won his first ever CLS main event when the series visited the track on April 30th.  

Grigoreas is still the only driver in the CLS with more than one win this year.  The talkative racer has three victories, but has not won since April 16th.  Besides Michnowicz and Caraccilo, other winners this year are Kelley and Kingsburg’s Doug Nunes.  

In the battle for the 2016 “Rookie of the Year” award, Lakewood teen Wyatt Downing is in the top spot and has a 24-point advantage over fellow Lakewood teenager Aiden Lange.  Camarillo’s Cody Nigh, who attends San Diego State University, is third in the freshman class standings.  

After Saturday’s battle in “Bako,” the CLS will take a couple of weeks off before their season reaches the midway point at Perris on July 2nd

California Lightning Sprint Car Series Points

1. Alex Grigoreas – Upland 812

2. Pat Kelly – Chino - 752

3. James Heling – San Bernardino - 722

4. Darren Hillberg – Corona - 692

5. Jeff Dyer – Victorville - 684

6. Dale Gamer – Anaheim – 647

7. Jon Robertson - Torrance - 629

8. Wyatt Downing - Lakewood – 561

9. Aiden Lange – Lakewood - 537

10. Cody Nigh – Camarillo - 502 

The California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2016 season possible: Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, DK Fabrication, Extreme Muffler, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Lucas Oil, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Rosson Racing, Saldana Race Products, Sander Engineering, Speedmart, Speed Partz, Surf N’ Sprint, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless, Woodland Auto Display. 

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for the 2016 season, please call Bobby Michnowicz at: (310) 320-5569. 

To keep up with the CLS on line, please visit the web site at: 

2016 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule

March 5: Imperial Valley Raceway - El Centro, CA – Alex Grigoreas 
March 19: Bakersfield Speedway - Bakersfield, CA – Bobby Michnowicz
April 2: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Alex Grigoreas
April 16: Santa Maria Raceway - Santa Maria, CA – Alex Grigoreas
April 30: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA – Charlie Caraccilo
May 14: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Pat Kelley
May 28: Perris Auto Speedway - Perris, CA (Salute To Indy) – Doug Nunes
June 11: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA (BoD & General Membership Meeting)
July 2: Perris Auto Speedway - Perris, CA (Firecracker)
July 9: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA
August 3: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA (Ventura County Fair)
August 20: Santa Maria Raceway - Santa Maria, CA 
September 3: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA (BoD & General Membership Meeting)
September 17: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA 
October 1: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
October 15: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
October 29: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
November 13: **General Membership Meeting / 2017 Rules Meeting
November 19: **Imperial Valley Raceway - El Centro, CA 
**=Proposed Date.
This schedule is subject to change. 
Civil War Dates TBD


1994 Tony Everhart

1995 Gary Sexton

1996 Rob Sczymczak

1997 Jon Rahe

1998 Chris Rahe

1999 Brent Sexton

2000 Greg Bragg

2001 Greg Bragg

2002 Greg Bragg

2003 David Cardey

2004 Keith Janca

2005 Johnny Bates

2006 Donny Gansen

2007 Shane Rossen

2008 Brent Sexton

2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr.

2010 Jarrett Kramer

2011 Tim Brown

2012 Bobby Michnowicz

2013 Stephen Limon

2014 Bobby Michnowicz

2015 Bobby Michnowicz

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768

Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login

If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2019 Privacy Policy