California Lightning Sprints
Home | Register | Contact | Verify Email | FAQ |
Blogs | Photo Gallery | Press Release | Results |

Welcome Guest. Already registered? Please Login


Forum: California Lightning Sprints (go)
Moderators: CLS Dan  /  ljennings  /  smokinokie

Records per page
Topic: HILLBERG CLOSES IN ON GRIGOREAS IN CALIFORNIA LIGHTNING SPRINT CAR POINTS! Email this topic to a friend | Subscribe to this TopicReport this Topic to Moderator
Page 1 of 1   of  0 replies
May 09, 2016 at 05:37:50 PM
Joined: 11/14/2006
Posts: 2915


22126 South Vermont, Unit A

Torrance, CA 90502

(310) 320-5569

FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT: Bobby Michnowicz (310) 320-5569

For Immediate Release 


(Torrance, CA, May 9, 2016) Corona, California’s Darren Hillberg hopes to keep closing the gap on point leader Alex Grigoreas when the California Lightning Sprint Car Series makes its second 2016 appearance at Jim Naylor’s picturesque Ventura Raceway this Saturday night, May 14th.  In addition to the CLS, the VRA Sprint Cars & Dwarf Cars and the IMCA Modifieds will also be in action.  Spectator gates will open at 3:00 PM and racing will begin at 5:30.    

Heading into the race two weeks ago at Bakersfield, Hillberg trailed Grigoreas by 59-points in the championship standings.  However, Upland’s Grigoreas, who had won three of the first four races of the year, blew up late in the race while challenging eventual winner Charlie Caraccilo of Madera for the lead.  Parlayed with his sixth place finish and Grigoreas’ 14th, Hillberg has closed the gap to only 24-points going into the race at the track that is located adjacent to the Pacific Ocean. 

Through the first five races of the season Hillberg’s worst finish was a seventh.  In addition to that he has two sixth place finishes, a third and he finished second to Grigoreas when the CLS last visited Ventura on April 2nd.  

San Bernardino’s James Heling, who led the standings earlier in the year, is currently third in the title chase with Chino’s Pat Kelley and Dal Gamer of Anaheim rounding out the top five.  

After Saturday’s race at the “Commotion by the Ocean,” the CLS will make its first of two 2016 appearances at Perris Auto Speedway at the annual “Salute to Indy” on May 28th

California Lightning Sprint Car Series Points

1. Alex Grigoreas – -Upland - 590

2. Darren Hillberg – Corona - 566

3. James Heling – San Bernardino - 535

4. Pat Kelly – Chino - 521

5. Dale Gamer - Anaheim - 490

6. Jeff Dyer – Victorville – 450

7. Jon Robertson - Torrance - 449

8. Zach Zauss – Murrieta – 436

9. Wyatt Downing - Lakewood – 403

10. Bobby Michnowicz - 362 

The California Lightning Sprint Car Series would like to thank the following sponsors for helping make the 2016 season possible: Christian Stover Foundation, Circle Track Performance, Cold Fire West, DK Fabrication, Extreme Muffler, Fast Undercar, Hoosier Tire, Keizer Wheels, Lucas Oil, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Rosson Racing, Saldana Race Products, Sander Engineering, Speedmart, Speed Partz, Surf N’ Sprint, Super Shocks, T Shirts by Timeless, Woodland Auto Display. 

If you or your company would like to become part of the series for the 2016 season, please call Bobby Michnowicz at: (310) 320-5569. 

To keep up with the CLS on line, please visit the web site at: 

2016 California Lightning Sprint Car Series Schedule

March 5: Imperial Valley Raceway - El Centro, CA – Alex Grigoreas 
March 19: Bakersfield Speedway - Bakersfield, CA – Bobby Michnowicz
April 2: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA – Alex Grigoreas
April 16: Santa Maria Raceway - Santa Maria, CA – Alex Grigoreas
April 30: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA – Charlie Cariccilo
May 14: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
May 28: Perris Auto Speedway - Perris, CA (Salute To Indy)
June 11: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA (BoD & General Membership Meeting)
July 2: Perris Auto Speedway - Perris, CA (Firecracker)
July 9: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA
August 3: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA (Ventura County Fair)
August 20: Santa Maria Raceway - Santa Maria, CA 
September 3: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA (BoD & General Membership Meeting)
September 17: Bakersfield Raceway - Bakersfield, CA 
October 1: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
October 15: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
October 29: Ventura Raceway - Ventura, CA 
November 13: **General Membership Meeting / 2017 Rules Meeting
November 19: **Imperial Valley Raceway - El Centro, CA 
**=Proposed Date.
This schedule is subject to change. 
Civil War Dates TBD


1994 Tony Everhart

1995 Gary Sexton

1996 Rob Sczymczak

1997 Jon Rahe

1998 Chris Rahe

1999 Brent Sexton

2000 Greg Bragg

2001 Greg Bragg

2002 Greg Bragg

2003 David Cardey

2004 Keith Janca

2005 Johnny Bates

2006 Donny Gansen

2007 Shane Rossen

2008 Brent Sexton

2009 Stuart Hielschier Sr.

2010 Jarrett Kramer

2011 Tim Brown

2012 Bobby Michnowicz

2013 Stephen Limon

2014 Bobby Michnowicz

2015 Bobby Michnowicz

This press release was produced by Scott Daloisio Sports (909) 226-7768

Post Reply
You must be logged in to Post a Message.
Not a member register Here.
Already registered? Please Login

If you have a website and would like to set up a forum here at
please contact us by using the contact link at the top of the page.

© 2019 Privacy Policy